Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find streaming films in the library collection
Faculty, please alert your subject librarian to any streaming films not found in the library collection, that you would like to use in your teaching. Streaming film rights can be purchased for your classes, if enough advanced notice is provided. Be aware that sometimes the licensing process for streaming films can take months.
To search the library's collection of streaming films by topic or to search for a specific title, the most comprehensive way is to search the "books and more" tab on www.library.unt.edu by keyword or by title. Then use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow by Resource Type to "video/film". Then limit the Format or Media Type to "digital files" for streaming film content only.
You may also choose to search or browse within some of the streaming film databases below. All of the streaming titles contained in these databases are indexed in the library catalog (the "books and more" tab on library.unt.edu)
Titles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides legal access to course-related films. Includes feature films, documentaries, and films on many topics.
Academic video online
Academic Video Online is a multidisciplinary video collection that provides access to more than 67,000 videos covering subject areas including anthropology, business, cousenling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Select streaming films
Hurricanes from hell by
This documentary, produced by Philip Nugus, is about several well-known hurricanes, including Hurricane Katrina.
Seconds from disaster > Season 3, episode 9, Chicago air crash by
In Chicago in 1979, a packed aircraft crashes shortly after takeoff from the Chicago International Airport into a trailer park community, resulting in the deaths of 273 people. The cause of the crash prompts an extensive review and overhaul of aviation maintenance protocols.
Kansas City - death by design training package by
he deadliest structural collapse up until the September 11 terrorist attacks, 1981 Hyatt Regency walkway collapse resulted in the deaths of 114 people. The walkway's faulty design has been one of the most widely discussed topics in engineering ethics.
Nova > Season 39, Episode 16, Hurricane Sandy: inside the megastorm by
Was Megastorm Sandy a freak combination of weather systems? Or are hurricanes increasing in intensity due to a warming climate? How did this perfect storm make search and rescue so dangerous? "Inside the Megastorm" takes viewers moment by moment through Sandy, its impacts, and the future of storm protection. Through first person accounts from those who survived, and from experts and scientists, "Inside the Megastorm" gives scientific context to a new breed of storms.
Bibliography of Selected Videos
The list below is a selected bibliography of DVDs and VODs (Videos on Demand) from the UNT Libraries. The document contains links that take you directly to the UNT Library Catalog where you can read more about a video's content.
Select DVDs at the UNT Libraries
Faculty: You can book DVDs for your course through the UNT Library Catalog. Follow the links below the images.
Students: You can check out these DVDs at the Chilton Media Library, according to its borrowing policy.