Many of these electronic resources are databases or indexes to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and full-text resources. While some of the government resources are available to everyone, remote access to most of these databases is limited to persons affiliated with UNT.

Several electronic indexes offer a special index of terms or a thesaurus to help identify appropriate search terms. Most resources use the principles of Boolean logic (i.e., connecting search terms with AND, OR, NOT) and allow limiting your search by date.

Here is a list of some electronic indexes and full text resources that cover issues related to emergency management. 

Newspaper Databases

Tips for Finding Articles

Log in with your EUID and password if you are off-campus.

Limit your search by the following:

• collection of newspapers, e.g. US newspapers
• date range
• geographic area, e.g., Japan, Oklahoma
• topic

Individual Newspapers

To browse or search within a particular newspaper online, start by searching for the newspaper title in the UNT Libraries e-Journals search.

Step 1: Go to the UNT Libraries homepage at http://www.library.unt.edu/ and locate the central search box. Click on the "Databases & E-Resources" tab.

Step 2: Enter the name of the newspaper you want to explore into the search field, and then click the "Search" button.

Step 3: Browse through the search results and find the title that closely matches the newspaper you are looking for. Click on the option that provides full-text access for the dates you are interested in.