I suggest that you start your search for scholarly articles in one of the databases in the journal article databases box below or in the UNT Libraries' "Find Articles" search in the box underneath the suggested databases.  "Find Articles" simultaneously searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' subscription databases.  Your "Find Articles" search results will be multidisciplinary.

You may also try searching or browsing within individual emergency management journals, for articles, such as the ones listed below--

Create Boolean searches using the keywords.

A Boolean search is a search using the words AND, OR and NOT between the keywords. These words have a special function when used in a database.

• The search [blue whale AND Pacific Ocean] will find all of the articles that contain both words. AND makes your search narrower.
• The search [blue whale OR Balaenoptera musculus] will find all articles that contain one word, or the other, or both. OR is placed between synonyms and makes your search broader.
• The search [blue whale NOT Atlantic Ocean] will find all articles containing "blue whale" and exclude the articles that also contain "Atlantic Ocean." NOT excludes articles that you don't want.  

Use the truncation symbol (or wildcard symbol) to search for word variations.

You can avoid doing multiple searches for variations on word endings using the truncation symbol * (the asterisk) in most databases.  Entering the keyword "blue whale*" will look for both blue whale and blue whales.

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase

You can put quotation marks around a set of words to limit the results to only those that have those words in that exact order.

Add keywords to limit the type of article you retrieve.

If you want a literature review, add "AND review" to your keywords. To find a research study, add "AND study" to your keywords.

Enter your Boolean searches in the Advanced Search of a database.

It's easier to use the Advanced Search in a database to enter your Boolean searches because it gives you multiple boxes with the Boolean operators between them. If you are using a search with multiple search strings, enter OR within the search boxes and AND between the search boxes, e.g., [blue whale OR Balaenoptera musculus] AND [feeding range OR feeding grounds] AND [Pacific Ocean].

Use available filters to limit results

Most databases include filters for things like data range, resource type, and language. Use filters as appropriate to remove less relevant results.