Consider the following to understand the difference between news, trade and scholarly articles:
Scholarly/Peer reviewed articles are written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in the field to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico
Below are resources for both news and scholarly articles. To get started:
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Advanced Search," select "Newspapers" under the "Source type."
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For news articles, click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorials: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective for over 500,000 companies. Profiles include total revenue, number of employees, companies with similar revenue, related industries, business description, company type, contact information, officers, variant name(s), brands, case studies, company chronology, company histories, market share reports, rankings, news and more.
From the home page, click on "business news" or search by "Article" in the search box. "Company" is the default search option in the drop down menu next to search box.
Video tutorials: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/bie
Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8
Mergent Intellect includes company and industry profiles with the latest news related to those profiles.
To access company news, type in the company, ticker or URL in the white search box and click the blue magnifying glass to execute the search. Under the "Company Details" tab, scroll down to see "Latest News" and "Top Business Tweets."
To access industry news, scroll down and click on "First Research," then enter your email address. Type the industry code or keyword into the white search box and click the "Search" button to execute the search. Click the hyperlinked industry group and scroll down to "News and Social" for the latest news.
NOTE: Mergent Intellect should offer access to the same information previously found in Hoovers. If you run across an instance where it is not offering certain information that you usually obtain through Hoovers, please contact Yvonne Dooley at yvonne.dooley@unt.edu.
NOTE: Hoover's was sunset by the vendor in December 2018. All data previously available in Hoover's Online is now accessible through Mergent Intellect.
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
For news, type keywords into the "Search in all News For" search box and click the "Search" button.
Regional Business News includes abstracts for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications, including newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, and trade publications. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Video tutorials: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
ABI/INFORM Global provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Using the "Basic" or "Advanced Search," limit your results to "Peer reviewed" by checking the box next to the option.
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals
For journal articles, limit your results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: http://support.ebsco.com/help/index.php?help_id=2982
Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) provides full text and abstracts of articles in...
Click on "Academic Journal" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Business Sources Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Click on "Academic Journal" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.
Video tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8
Video tutorial:
Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals, with a significant range of subject coverage. However, UNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed.
To search for journal articles, click the "Journals & Books" link above the search box. Then, select "Journals" next to "Content Type."
Video tutorial: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/support/training.htm
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, so some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage.
To check journal coverage, click "Browse by Title" then click on the first letter that the journal starts with and scroll down to the title.
Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/tkaCwk_HvxA
Proquest Research Library (previously Periodical Abstracts Research II) is a general reference database of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines, including business.
Using the "Advanced Search," select "Scholarly Journals" under the "Source type." For peer reviewed scholarly journals, locate the "Limit to" option underneath the search boxes and select "Peer reviewed."
Video tutorial:
