Guides: INFO 6940: Seminar in Research and Research Methodology: Articles and Conference Proceedings

Find Full Text!

About 75% of the journals you find in article databases will be available in full text from the UNT Libraries. To find the full text, use the green Find It button that you'll see near each article title. It'll connect you to the full text journal where you can download the PDF of an article. If you reach a dead end, order the article from Interlibrary Loan.

Simultaneous Searches

When databases are in the same platform, they can usually be searched at the same time. Platforms that give you this option are EBSCOhost and ProQuest. You will still be able to set the limiters for each database. Look for "Add databases" or "Change databases" to create the search. Here are some examples of databases you can search simultaneously: Library & Information Science Source/Business Source Complete/Hospitality and Tourism Index in EBSCOhost platform and Library Science Database/Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts in ProQuest Platform.

Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases

The boxes below contain recommended databases where you can find articles and conference proceedings in your concentration. The four databases listed here are multidisciplinary databases where you can locate information.

Academic search complete
A strong multidisciplinary database covering scholarly, trade, and popular publications, many in full text. Can be searched in conjunction with any other EBSCOhost database.
ProQuest dissertations and theses.
PQDT Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Research library
A multidisciplinary database with some full text. Can be searched in conjunction with any other ProQuest database.
Web of science
A multidisciplinary database of 10,000 high quality scholarly journals and 120,000 conference proceedings. Also functions as a citation index, showing you how many times articles and proceedings have been cited.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your EUID and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.

Library and Information Science

Library & Information Science Source
Indexes articles and book reviews from English and foreign-language LIS journals. Also indexes books, chapters in conference proceedings, library school theses, and more. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, censorship, children's literature, copyright, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management preservation, reference, web sites and more. Dates of coverage: Abstracts 1980 – current.
Library and information science abstracts
LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Many full-text documents are available through article and e-journal links
Dates of coverage: 1969 to current
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective 1905-1983
Includes hundreds of periodicals, books, book chapters, academic journals, conference proceedings and library school theses with over 1,200 publications and more than 500,000 articles. This resource also includes multilingual coverage, with translated titles and English-language summaries from library science published material from Europe, Russia, China, India, Australia and Latin America.
Library Science Database
Includes trade publications and scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes artificial intelligence, book reviews, information science, information technology, knowledge management, library management, library use and users, online information retrieval, records management, and telecommunications.

Consumer Behavior and Experience Management

ABI/INFORM
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Dates of Coverage: 1923 - Current
Business Source Complete
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and other periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
Hospitality & tourism index
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection will eventually contain more than 470,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s.

Cybersecurity

Engineering Source
Engineering Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for over 3,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with engineering-related issues. Energy-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
INSPEC
Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, this database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering.

Data Science

Engineering Source
Engineering Source offers cover-to-cover indexing for over 3,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines and trade publications, all directly dealing with engineering-related issues. Energy-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
INSPEC
Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, this database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering.

Health Informatics

MEDLINE
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Abstracts only, but linked to full text journals at UNT Libraries.
PubMed
This database maintained by the National Library of Medicine includes Medline, additional life science journals, and books in the NLM.

Linguistics

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of coverage: 1973 - Current
Linguistics Database
The Linguistics Database offers full-text journals and other sources in linguistics. It covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Additional subject coverage includes anthropological linguistics, applied linguistics, discourse analysis, pathological and normal language, learning disabilities, nonverbal communication, and psycholinguistics.

Ask Us!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.

INFO 6940: Seminar in Research and Research Methodology