Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually.
British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance presents facsimile images of a range of literary manuscripts — including letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings, and other materials — from roughly 1120 to 1660.
Consisting primarily of works in Middle and Early Modern English, British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance is an essential resource for any student of those historical eras. GALE
Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series.
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Literary criticism and biographical information from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism (from late 1990s-present), and a variety of other Gale resources.
This resource provides patrons access to an online archive of The Globe and Mail through ProQuest. This historical newspaper can provide genealogists, researchers, and scholars with access to first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and historical events of the time. Date coverage of this newspaper ranges from 1844 to 2011.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archives (1885-1984) This resource offers full page reproductions of The Dallas Morning News newspaper from 1885-1984.
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
The Washington Digital Newspapers project is part of the Washington State Library’s program to make its rare, historical resources more accessible to students, teachers and citizens across the state. Newspapers uploaded through this project will represent different geographic regions of the state with date coverage ranging from as early as 1870s.
When searching for your short story begin by using the title of your story and a key concept. For example: "Fall of the House of Usher" and "isolation". You can also search by author, for example, Meg Wolizer "short stories".
This database covers short stories, with detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of works. The resource is searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, genre or by any combination of terms. Content includes 117,000+ stories from more than 4,200 collections and anthologies, with full text for nearly 5,000 stories. Coverage dates back to 1984.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. GALE
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Business, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. Journals may be browsed or searched.
Covered: Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science
Contents: Selected reference ebooks, including Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science.
ProQuest is a large, multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels in all markets. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Provides a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications. EBSCOHost
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Essay & General Literature Index Retrospective contains citations for essays in collections and anthologies from 1900 to 1984. Coverage focuses on the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film and publications from the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain.
Provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book/media reviews and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the United States and Canada. Writings in over 40 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and ProjectMuse are available from some abstracts. EBSCOHost
History of British Isles and the British Empire and Commonwealth
Contents: Over 490,000 records covering bibliographic data and historical writings on the British Isles with the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 B.C. to the present. Contains books, articles in books, and journal articles. 682 journals and series are searched systematically for material.
Other Notes:Successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002-2009.
British History Online (BHO) is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.
Comprehensive bibliography that includes items printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800), and Canada; in any language. Also, items printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world
Defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications.
say and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. EBSCOHost
A cornerstone of humanities scholarship across the world, Oxford University Press's list of scholarly editions is unparalleled in breadth and quality. Oxford Scholarly Editions Online (OSEO) provides full-text access to hundreds of editions straight from your desktop, showcasing their authoritative editorial notes directly alongside the text and enabling advanced search within and between editions.
