This reference book provides a wealth of information about over 200 North American Indian groups in Canada and the United States. Divided into ten geographic areas for easy reference, this work illustrates each Native American group in careful detail. Listed alphabetically, starting with the tribal name, translation, origin, and definition, each entry includes significant facts about the group's location and population. This encyclopedia also presents current information on each group's government, economy, legal status, and land holdings.

This reference book offers essential facts on the identity, kinships, locations, populations and cultural characteristics of some 400 separately identifiable peoples native to the North American continent, both living and extinct, from the Canadian Arctic to the Rio Grande. The spiritual beliefs and the role of Native Americans in history and modern culture are addressed in detail. Population and settlement trends based on census figures paint detailed portraits of officially recognized tribes.

Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes discusses more than 200 American Indian tribes of North America, as well as prehistoric peoples and civilizations. The text summarizes the historical record and includes present-day tribal affairs and issues. The book also covers traditional Indian lifeways, including diet, housing, transportation, tools, clothing, art, and rituals, as well as language families.

Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World is a unique A-to-Z reference to the vast offerings made by American Indians throughout history. More than 450 entries provide a panorama of little-known information about the rich inventiveness of indigenous peoples of North, Central, and South America. To be included in the book, the item must have originated in one of those three regions, have been used by Indian people, and have been adopted in some way by other cultures. While many of those contributions can clearly be shown to have been first invented or used by Indians, some entries cover inventions that were made independently by others as well. In these cases, the unique features of the American Indian science or technology are covered and compared to the other version of the item or process. Entries include contributions as early as Trousers (25,000 B.C.); to more recent contributions Aroma therapy (A.D. 1100-1519) or Hydraulics (A.D. 1300).

This book is a one-stop reference resource for the vast variety of musical expressions of the First Peoples' cultures of North America, both past and present. The book provides print and Internet resources with each entry and includes a timeline that highlights important developments in First Peoples' musical expressions.

This book examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America.

In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes. Information--adapted from the same research used to create the monumental Native American Ethnobotany--includes 82 categories of medicinal uses, ranging from analgesics, contraceptives, gastrointestinal aids, hypotensive medicines, sedatives, and toothache remedies. Native American Medicinal Plants includes extensive indexes arranged by tribe, usage, and common name, making it easy to access the wealth of information in the detailed catalog of plants. It is an essential reference for students and professionals in the fields of anthropology, botany, and naturopathy and an engaging read for anyone interested in ethnobotany and natural healing.

Throughout history, Indian leaders and their methods of leadership have both perplexed and fascinated other Americans. As the twelve subjects whose careers are examined in this collection illustrate, Indian political leadership has manifested itself in a wide variety of patterns. Spanning the period from colonial times to the present, the essays are devoted to Old Briton, Joseph Brant (or, Thayendenegea), Alexander McGillivray, Red Bird, John Ross, Satanta, Washakie, Sitting Bull, Quanah Parker, Dennis Bushyhead, Carlos Montezuma, and Peter MacDonald.

Entertaining and enlightening interviews with some of today's most important Native Americans.

The lives and practices of 100 healers and spiritual leaders from a variety of North American Native peoples are described here. Included are both historical and contemporary figures. Entries include a summary of the individual's life, a history of the person's early life, a description of the highlights of his or her career as a healer or spiritual practitioner, and recommendations for further reading. A bibliography, subject index, and two appendixes that list individuals by birth date and by Nation or group round out the volume.

This is a study of the tribes, traditions, and leaders of Native America, from ancient social structures to contemporary land disputes. The book is composed of articles by well-known Native Americans, offering a view of their culture from pre-Columbian times to the present. The articles cover history, religion, arts, language and current issues, revealing a portrait of a people.

Profiling 400 prominent artists of the 20th century, each entry in this reference includes a biographical profile; lists of exhibitions, public galleries and museums; a bibliography of books and articles by and about the entrant; and presents a critical perspective on the artist's work.

The National Museum of the American Indian, the newest addition to the Smithsonian Institution's most

Atlas of Indian Nationsis a comprehensive resource for those interested in Native American history and culture. In the most comprehensive atlas of Native American history and culture available, the story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography.

Atlas of the North American Indian, Third Edition chronicles the travel and experiences of Native Americans from the first voyage to North America to the present day. Invaluable appendixes include a chronology of North American Native prehistory and history, a list of contemporary Indian nations in the United States, a list of contemporary Canadian First Nations, and a list of major Native place-names in the United States and Canada. A glossary, a bibliography, and an index are also included.

The 109 maps in this comprehensive atlas provide a much-needed visual and spatial dimension to narrative accounts of U.S. Indian policy. Francis Paul Prucha presents in cartographic form essential historical and current date on American Indians and Alaska Natives. Researchers, teachers and students, public officials, amateur historians, and all others who are interested in American Indian people will find the Atlas of American Indian Affairs a valuable compendium of information otherwise scattered and inaccessible. The book includes a comprehensive index.