Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUMH 5010: Introduction to Research in Music: Reference Sources

Introduction to Research in Music (various instructors)

Significant electronic and print dictionaries and encyclopedias

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Music Reference Shelf under call number ML100 .N48 2001

This is the most recent print version of the New Grove, the second edition. While predominantly a classical music resource, it now includes jazz, popular, and world music. It is available electronically as Grove Music Online, which is part of Oxford Music Online:
Grove Music Online
There were several spin-offs of the print New Grove, such as the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Some went through several editions. Although they have largely been integrated into Grove Music Online, not all versions of articles from the different editions made it into the online product. Thus, it may sometimes be necessary to consult the print volumes, all of which we have on our music reference shelves.
Please note: the first edition of A Dictionary of Music and Musicians, by Sir George Grove, was published in 1879. We have all of the earlier print editions in our collection. 

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG)

[Musik in History and the Present], comprehensive music encyclopedia in German

Music Reference Shelf under call number ML100 .M92 1994  

This second edition is divided into two sections, the Sachteil (terminology section) and Personenteil (people section).  The 1994 in the call number was the date the first volume was issued, but the rest of the encyclopedia was issued piecemeal and was finally completed in 2007.
Please note: the first edition of MGG, under call number ML100.M92, was published from 1949-1979. It is not divided into a Sachteil and Personenteil. Both editions are available on the music reference shelves.
The online product is an enhanced version of the second edition:

NEW IN 2017: 
MGG Online
 

Harvard Dictionary of Music

authoritative dictionary of musical terms; available electronically through Credo Reference
http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/harvdictmusic/the_harvard_dictionary_of_music/0

Print editions:
Music Reference Shelf under call number ML 100 .H37 2003

Please note: the original edition, which came out in 1944, was called the Harvard Dictionary of Music.  It was updated several times.  The new edition of 1986 was renamed the New Harvard Dictionary of Music.  The latest edition which came out in 2003, however, is once again called the Harvard Dictionary of Music.

Following are additional databases from Credo Reference:

The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera

The New Penguin Dictionary of Music

Reference Librarian

 
Profile Image
Donna Arnold
Subjects:

Music, French, German, Spanish
Contact Info
940.565-2860
Send Email

Additional Links

top