Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUMH 5010: Introduction to Research in Music: Streaming Audio and Websites

Introduction to Research in Music (various instructors)

Streaming Audio Databases and Scholarly Websites

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
A vast database of classical music from Naxos, which was originally a bargain classical music record label that later achieved great success with its forward-looking classical streaming audio service.

Naxos Music Library Jazz

A wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented.

Classical Music Library

A vast database of classical music from Alexander Street Press. 

DRAM - Database of Recorded American Music
American music recordings by New World Records, featuring contemporary composers often unrepresented by major labels. 

American Song
American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music.


Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances will cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Specially developed controlled vocabularies let users browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.

Smithsonian Global Sound
World music, including Smithsonian Folkways recordings. 

____________________________________________________ 

WEBSITES FOR SCHOLARLY MUSIC RESEARCH

Following are just a few examples of the many high-quality websites suitable for academic music research. 

Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
from Indiana University; includes Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and several research sites
Includes Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum 

europeana.org/en
links from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives; scaled-down continuation of theeuropeanlibrary.org, which has unfortunately been discontinued
 

MEDIEVAL MUSIC:

La Trobe University Library Medieval Music Database
Modern scores and facsimiles of original manuscripts; although no longer maintained, still provides considerable important content

Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum
"...free access to and make searchable every known Latin text on music from the late antiquity to the seventeenth century, in multiple editions and in transcriptions from original sources."

Abbaye de Solesmes
From the abbey renowned for spearheading the revival of Gregorian chant in modern times

The British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
full text facsimiles of Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts
 

RENAISSANCE MUSIC:

RELICS Renaissance Liturgical Imprints: A Census

Hill Museum & Manuscript Library
a vast database of manuscript images, including music, from St. John's University and St. John's Abbey in Collegeville, MN; includes the Renaissance and much more

 

CLASSIC AND ROMANTIC MUSIC:

The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies  from San Jose State University

ETHNOMUSICOLOGY:

Ethnomusicology
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music  an important ethnomusicology portal from the University of Washington

British Forum for Ethnomusicology
"a UK society devoted to the study of music and dance from all parts of the world"

Ethnomusicology
the journal; a website providing information about it with sample full-text articles

Reference Librarian

 
Profile Image
Donna Arnold
Subjects:

Music, French, German, Spanish
Contact Info
940.565-2860
Send Email

Searching for scholarly materials on Google

Google Scholar cites many important scholarly articles and other works, but does not always provide full text.  In such cases, use Google's information to search our subscription databases to see if we have full text.

http://scholar.google.com

Google Books provides full text of many public domain books and helpful previews of many others.  In some cases, however, it provides only citations.  If a whole book is not accessible, search the library's online catalog to see if we have the book.

http://books.google.com 

You can search our online catalog from the library homepage
http://www.library.unt.edu/

by clicking the "Books & More" tab above the search box.  Click the Music hotlink below the search box to reach the music-specific search interface:
http://iii.library.unt.edu/search~S7/X

Additional Links

top