Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The UNT Writing Center is a great resource to use for assistance with your writing style, organization, flow and more. The Writing Center now offers online tutoring sessions, so even distance learners can now take advantage of these valuable writing services.
Sage Hall, room 150
To schedule a digital tutoring session with the Writing Center, make an appointment by coming to the Writing Lab in person, calling the Writing Lab at 940.565.2563, or emailing the Writing Center at WritingCenter@unt.edu.
Recommended Library & Information Science Databases
EBSCOhost acts as a "one stop shop" by providing access to over 91 EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously. Dates covered range from 1997 to present day. Library and Information Science Source, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective, Library, and Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text are all good resources for SLIS students.
Library & Information Science Source (LISS)
Library & Information Science Source formed by the merger of Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and LISTA Full text. Indexes articles and book reviews from English and foreign-language library and information science journals. Also indexes books, chapters in conference proceedings, library school theses, and more. Contains full-text books. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, censorship, children's literature, copyright, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management preservation, reference, web sites and more.
Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities The Directories contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included. Dates of Coverage: Current
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s
Library and information science abstracts
Library & Information Science Abstracts (LISA) Abstracts Library and information Science periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages. Many full-text documents are available through article and e-journal links. Dates of Coverage: 1969 to current.
Suggested LIS Journals
UNT's Libraries provide access to thousands of journals. Below are only a small number of the journal titles offered relating to Library and Information Sciences.
Cataloging and Classification Quarterly
Taylor and Francis Online- “Cataloging and Classification Quarterly” provides an international forum to collect information on the field of bibliographic organization.
Via ProQuest Research Library- “Collection Building” provides authoritative information on collection development for librarians across the field.
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal provides practical, research –based information about building, administering, preserving, assessing, and organizing library collections.
The Electronic Library
Via ProQuest Research Library- “The Electronic Library” provides publications on applications and implications of new technology, automation, digitization, the internet, user interfaces, and networks for all types of libraries.
International Information and Library Review
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This scholarly journal provides articles on research and development in international and comparative librarianship, information science, information policy, digital values and digital libraries.
Journal of Librarianship and Information Science
Via SAGE Journals- JOLIS is a peer reviewed journal for librarians, information scientists, specialists, managers and educators in the field.
Journal of Library Metadata
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal promotes the importance of metadata in libraries and other institutions.
Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology
Via LISTA through EBSCOhost- This scholarly journal provides for the fields of documentation and information science.
Library and Information Science (Research)
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This peer-reviewed journal focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings, and their practical applications and significance.
Library Collections Acquisitions and Technical Services
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This journal provides current information on library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities worldwide.
Library Hi Tech News
Via ProQuest Research Library- LHTN provides accessible information for library professionals on current library and information science events and developments.
Via Emerald Insight - “Library Review” aims to provide an international com channel between researchers, educators and library professionals across the library field.
Using Find Articles
If you have a particular article you are trying to find, the Find Articles tool is an excellent option for quickly locating the article. Here is a quick tutorial on using this tool. For a complete tutorial, see the Find Articles Workshop classpage.
- Go to the Library homepage. Notice that the Online Articles tab is already selected.
- Click on Advanced Search. This will take you to the Find Articles search page.
- Fill in the information you have on the article (author, title, volume, issue, etc.) and select Search.
If your article is not retrieved, double check your search for spelling errors. One little mistake and your article will not be retrieved!
What is Peer Review?
A peer reviewed article is an article that has been subjected to a process of critical evaluation by experts on the subject to determine the quality, relevance and appropriateness of an article before it is published. This ensures that the articles published in a journal represent the best scholarship in that field.
If you are not sure if a journal is peer reviewed, you can turn to Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory.
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Tips When Searching for Articles
Begin by going to the Databases tab on the library home page and choosing a database in the alphabetical list. I've listed some recommended databases here.
If you find that the article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Not everything is available electronically. With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.