Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INFO 5420: Literature for Youth: Books

InterLibrary Loan

To find materials that may assist your research that are not owned by the University of North Texas Libraries, use the OCLC WorldCat database. Materials identified here can be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan Services are offered to the students, faculty and staff of UNT for research purposes. All of the Libraries' Interlibrary Loan requests are processed through ILLiad, an integrated web-based ILL software program. To use Interlibrary Loan Services you will need to create an ILLiad account.

If you are enrolled in a distance learning class, you may submit requests for items owned by the UNT Libraries through your ILLiad account. Books owned by the UNT Libraries may be mailed to your home or delivered to the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically to your ILLiad account. *Note:  When you register for an ILLiad account, choose status "Dist Learning". This will insure that you have access to special Distance Learning request forms.

Distance Learning students may also request items not owned by the UNT Libraries. Interlibrary Loan books or microfilm cannot be mailed to you but must be picked up at the Circulation Desk, Willis Library, the Discovery Park, or at the UNT Dallas Campus Library. Articles will be delivered electronically.

eBook Databases

Suggest a Book

Are we missing your favorite Library Science book? Email me with your book suggestion and why you think it would be a good addition to the collection: greg.hardin@unt.edu

Juvenile Collection

Image courtesy of Google Images

Need help finding copies of all the award books? This collection contains both fiction and non-fiction juvenile reading books appropriate for grades K-12. The materials are located in the lower level of the Eagle Commons Library. Sections include:

· J REF -- Reference books about children's literature.

· J E -- Juvenile picture books.

· J Fic -- Juvenile fiction books.

· J -- Juvenile information and non-fiction books.

You can search the online catalog for items in each collection:

  • Go to the UNT Library Catalog - http://iii.library.unt.edu/ and use the advanced search. 
  • Go to the Location search drop down box and select Eagle Commons Juvenile Collections.

Searching for Books

Books on Library and Information Sciences are arranged according to the Library of Congress classification system.  Each book is assigned a call number, and the beginning letters and numbers correspond to a specific subject.  For example, books about cataloging can be found within the call numbers "Z693-695.83."  The following list comprises the subject headings and their corresponding call numbers that will likely be relevant to you:

SubjectCall Number
Library Science   Z665 - 718.8
Library Administration   Z678 - 678.88
Cataloging   Z693 - 695.83
Public Services   Z711 - 711.95
 

A more comprehensive list can be found at the Library of Congress

The majority of the books you will need are located at Discovery Park on the first floor.

Search for Materials

 

eBooks on EBSCOhost - Library & Information Science

Storytime and Book Talks

Here are some books available through the Willis and Discovery Park Libraries to help you develop storytime and book talk activities. Check out the library catalog for more!

Additional Links

top