This cross-agency initiative is designed to "provide information and services relating to the four pillars of all-hazards disaster management: preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation." The portal includes information organized by type of disaster and by FEMA region, as well as disaster news, frequently asked questions, and an area for responders.

EPA responds to oil spills, chemical, biological, radiological releases, and large-scale national emergencies. EPA also provides additional response assistance when state and local first responder capabilities have been exhausted or when additional support is requested.

Radio broadcast is one method used by the National Weather Service and other public and private agencies for disseminating the EMWIN data-stream.

Chronology of major disaster declarations, declarations policy and guidance, and searchable database of disaster declarations.

Activities, games, and resources for parents, teachers, and children about how to prepare and cope with disasters.

Hazus is a nationally applicable standardized Earthquake, Wind, Flood methodology that contains models for estimating potential losses from earthquakes, floods, and hurricanes. Hazus uses Geographic Information Systems (GIS) technology to estimate physical, economic, and social impacts of disasters. It graphically illustrates the limits of identified high-risk locations due to earthquake, hurricane, flood, and tsunami. Users can then visualize the spatial relationships between populations and other more permanently fixed geographic assets or resources for the specific hazard being modeled, a crucial function in the pre-disaster planning process.
Hazus is used for mitigation and recovery, as well as preparedness and response. Government planners, GIS specialists, and emergency managers use Hazus to determine losses and the most beneficial mitigation approaches to take to minimize them. Hazus can be used in the assessment step in the mitigation planning process, which is the foundation for a community's long-term strategy to reduce disaster losses and break the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. Being ready will aid in recovery after a natural disaster.

Mitigation Plans form the foundation for a community's long-term strategy to reduce disaster losses and break the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. The planning process is as important as the plan itself. It creates a framework for risk-based decision making to reduce damages to lives, property, and the economy from future disasters. Hazard mitigation is sustained action taken to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and their property from hazards.

Contains emergency preparedness information for citizens, including suggested items for emergency supply kits, as well as tips on how to handle specific kinds of threats.

Database that allows searching for storm events (from 1950-present) by location, by date, or by event type.

The USGS monitors and conducts research on a wide range of natural hazards to help decision-makers prepare for and respond to hazard events that threaten life and property.

full color collection of Sanborn Maps from 1870-1959. Available to anyone.

The Sanborn maps in the Library of Congress collection are arranged by state, then city and release data. Currently there are over 25,000 sheets from over 3000 city sets online in the following states: AK, AL, AZ, CA, CO, CT, DC, DE, GA, ID, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MO, MS, NC, ND, NE, NH, NJ, NV, OH, OK, PA, SD, TX, VA, VT, WY and Canada, Mexico, Cuba sugar warehouses, and U.S. whiskey warehouses.

The ADA is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination based on disability. This page includes the text of the law as well as numerous explanations of how to comply with it. It includes a checklist for emergency shelters and a guide to making community emergency response programs accessible to persons with disabilities.

Several laws and the regulations developed to implement them are the foundation of EPA's Emergency Management Program.

This Act constitutes the statutory authority for most Federal disaster response activities, especially as they pertain to FEMA and FEMA programs.

The Texas Disaster Act of 1975 as amended.