Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips When Searching for Articles
Begin by going to the Databases tab on the library home page and choosing a database in the alphabetical list. I've listed some recommended databases here.
If you find that the article you are looking for is not available online, don't be too concerned. Not everything is available electronically. With the title, issue number, year, and page numbers in hand, check out the UNT Library Catalog. Do a journal title search and check to see if our library holds a print copy. If not, you can put in a request from another library using our Interlibrary Loan ILLiad system.
Research Handouts & Database Guides
Open Access Databases & Free Resources
- Kanopy (Firm), & Library Video Network. (2014). Conducting the reference interview.
eBooks on EBSCOhost - Library & Information Science
Suggested LIS Journals
UNT's Libraries provide access to thousands of journals. Below are only a small number of the journal titles offered relating to Library and Information Sciences.
Cataloging and Classification Quarterly
Taylor and Francis Online- “Cataloging and Classification Quarterly” provides an international forum to collect information on the field of bibliographic organization.
Via ProQuest Research Library- “Collection Building” provides authoritative information on collection development for librarians across the field.
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal provides practical, research –based information about building, administering, preserving, assessing, and organizing library collections.
The Electronic Library
Via ProQuest Research Library- “The Electronic Library” provides publications on applications and implications of new technology, automation, digitization, the internet, user interfaces, and networks for all types of libraries.
International Information and Library Review
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This scholarly journal provides articles on research and development in international and comparative librarianship, information science, information policy, digital values and digital libraries.
Journal of Librarianship and Information Science
Via SAGE Journals- JOLIS is a peer reviewed journal for librarians, information scientists, specialists, managers and educators in the field.
Journal of Library Metadata
Via Taylor and Francis Online- This peer-reviewed journal promotes the importance of metadata in libraries and other institutions.
Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology
Via LISTA through EBSCOhost- This scholarly journal provides for the fields of documentation and information science.
Library and Information Science (Research)
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This peer-reviewed journal focuses on the research process in library and information science as well as research findings, and their practical applications and significance.
Library Collections Acquisitions and Technical Services
Via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection- This journal provides current information on library collection management, technical services, vendor and publishing communities worldwide.
Library Hi Tech News
Via ProQuest Research Library- LHTN provides accessible information for library professionals on current library and information science events and developments.
Via Emerald Insight - “Library Review” aims to provide an international com channel between researchers, educators and library professionals across the library field.
Crash Course in Contemporary Reference by
Call Number: Z711 .G64 2017eb
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
A fresh, detailed, and thoughtful examination of reference services in the context of evolving community information needs and habits, a changing technological landscape, and new search strategies. * Offers librarians new to reference services an easy-to-follow, up-to-date, and complete overview of the field in practical terms * Provides current information that will help librarians keep abreast of new resources, evolving patron needs and interests, and emerging best practices * Serves as an accessible and affordable guide for workshops and in-service trainings
Guide to Reference by
Call Number: Z1035.1 .G885 2014
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Ideal for public, school, and academic libraries looking to freshen up their reference collection, as well as for LIS students and instructors conducting research, this resource collects the cream of the crop sources of general reference and library science information. Encompassing internet resources, digital image collections, and print resources, it includes the full section on LIS Resources from the Guide to Reference database, which as voted #1 Best Professional Resource Database by Library Journal readers. Organized by topic and thoroughly indexed, this guide makes it a snao to find the right source.
Numeric Data Services and Sources for the General Reference Librarian by
Call Number: Z711 .K45 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011-05-26
The proliferation of online access to social science statistical and numeric data sources, such as the U.S. Census Bureau's American Fact Finder, has lead to an increased interest in supporting these sources in academic libraries. Many large libraries have been able to devote staff to data services for years, and recently smaller academic libraries have recognized the need to provide numeric data services and support. This guidebook serves as a primer to developing and supporting social science statistical and numerical data sources in the academic library. It provides strategies for the establishment of data services and offers short descriptions of the essential sources of free and commercial social science statistical and numeric data. Finally, it discusses the future of numeric data services, including the integration of statistics and data into library instruction and the use of Web 2.0 tools to visualize data.
Providing Reference Services by
Call Number: Z711 .G688 2017eb
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Providing Reference Services: A Practical Guide for Librarians was written with the working librarian in mind; it focuses on specific methods and information to help foster effective, exceptional results. Topics covered include: -Reference services: basic information and background -Reference resources and tutorials -Organizing and providing services -Staffing and performance management -Forming helpful partnerships (internal and external) -The future of reference Readers will come away with a solid foundation in reference services. They will have the knowledge to update or restructure an existing reference program, or to create a program from the ground up. Individual chapters and subsections provide constructive tips and advice for specific reference issues. Taken as a whole, this book provides a valuable, inclusive source of information for all major aspects of reference service. Providing Reference Services is an appropriate resource for nearly all librarians in public-service positions, especially those with reference responsibilities, whether they are working reference librarians at any level of experience, reference supervisors, or administrators with oversight of reference services. The content is relevant to academic, public, school, and special libraries--any library or organization, in fact, that offers reference or research assistance.
Reference Interview Today by
Call Number: Z711 .H419 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
More an art than a science, the reference interview requires not only knowing a specific set of skills, but also how to apply those skills in an ever-changing world. Good reference interviews accomplish three goals: establishing contact with the user, determining what the user's information need actually is, and checking to make sure that the answer actually meets that need completely. Built around timeless service principles including Ranganathan's Five Laws, The Reference Interview Today: Negotiating and Answering Questions Face to Face, on the Phone, and Virtually is a practical field guide to conducting reference interviews in every modality: face-to-face, phone, chat, text, virtual world such as Second Life, and even mashup reference interviews where multiple modalities are used to answer the question. Following a concise presentation of reference interview basics, the heart of the book is 12 different reference interview scenarios set in different modes and demonstrating a specific principle. Each of these twelve follows a similar construction: a general overview of the principle (for example, save the time of the reader), a script of the reference interview, and then learning questions designed to demonstrate the principle(s) as illustrated in the script. Examples range from assisting faculty members with scholarly resources to helping a high school student with a paper to assisting a hairdresser with a reference question. One scenario is based in the year 2025 to emphasize the timeless nature of reference service. Seamlessly combining both time-honored principles and multiple technologies, this practical book demonstrates how librarians can be as relevant and necessary in the digital age as in the print world. Appropriate for both novice and experienced librarians as well as for LIS students, this concise handbook speaks to those working in or preparing for careers in public, school, academic, and special libraries..
The Reference Interview Today by
Call Number: Z711 .K57 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011-06-02
Learn and perfect the skills needed to conduct satisfying reference interviews in the modern technological environment with this easy-to-use guide.
Reimagining Reference in the Twenty-First Century by
Call Number: Z711 .R465 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Reference service, the idea that librarians provide direct assistance to users, has been a central function of libraries for over a century. Today's libraries are even more complex and intimidating to new users than libraries of the past, and the technical and social contexts in which users experience their library's resources add to this complexity. The availability of a friendly librarian who helps users find materials, search for information on a topic, interpret citations, identify quality information, and format bibliographies has become a standard component of what libraries do. However, changes in technologies, economics, and user populations are causing many libraries to question the need and function of traditional reference services.This book examines how library services meet user needs in the twenty-first century. Many libraries are asking key questions about reference services, such as: Should librarians be on call waiting for users or out in the community promoting the library? Should we assign staff to help users one-on-one or is it more effective to assign them to build and use tools to teach users how to find and evaluate information? Will we continue to purchase commercial reference sources or just use Wikipedia and other free resources on the web? With the proliferation of information available today, how can we help users evaluate search results and select the best resources that they can find? And how do we evaluate the effectiveness of reference services?Through contributions from the leading scholars and practitioners in the field, this volume addresses such issues and how they affect practices in public and academic libraries. In addition, it presents perspectives from the publishing community and the creators of discovery tools. Each section is enhanced by short case studies that highlight real-world practices and experiences.
Reinventing Reference by
Call Number: Z711 .R47 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-14
Katie Elson Anderson is a reference and instruction librarian at the Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers University, Camden, New Jersey, and the coeditor of Stop Plagiarism: A Guide to Understanding and Prevention. Publications include chapters in Teaching Generation M: A Handbook for Librarians and Educators, Sage's 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook, and Portrayals of Children in Popular Culture, A Handbook.
Research Within the Disciplines by
Call Number: Z710 .R47 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Research within the Disciplines is designed to help reference librarians - and students studying to become librarians - gain that deeper understanding of disciplinary differences that allows them to comfortably solve information needs rather than merely responding to questions, and practical knowledge about how to work with researchers in a library setting. The book has three chapters that cover the disciplines at the broadest level - humanities, social sciences, and sciences, plus supplemental chapters that focus on associated disciplines (research in history, business, and engineering, research using government sources) and across disciplines (interdisciplinary and critical information literacy). For the second edition of Research within the Disciplines, several chapters have been added that together give a broader and deeper overview of research across all subject areas: research practices of creative and performing artists and of clinical scientists, research in international documents, research strategies for foreign language materials, and visual literacy across the disciplines. Major shifts in technology have been accounted for that have changed how we do research and have expanded the range of resources available to researchers in all disciplines. All of the chapters have been rewritten or heavily revised; this is much more a new book than a new edition.
Scholar is a great way to use Google for academic searching!
Boolean logic is used to search most databases. By using connecting terms like AND, NOT, and OR searches can be broadened or narrowed.
Below is a brief tutorial, (0:27) explaining how Boolean logic works.
This last video is a lighter take on Boolean logic, (6:54). Along with a good laugh, the video provides expert information on how to properly conduct a search using a database or search engine.