Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education Research: Article and Streaming Audio Databases

Use these music-specific databases to identify articles pertinent to your research. The list is in order of importance for music education.

Music Index
Indexes hundreds of music journals and magazines from many different countries, and provides full text of many articles. The database covers the years from 1970 to the present, but it originated as a print publication in 1949. It has always included all kinds of music, and it is particularly important for music education research. Print issues not included in the database (1949-1969) are available on the music reference shelves.
 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A vast international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. It began as a print publication in 1967, providing citations and abstracts of articles. The database now has full text of over 300,000 articles. Although its former focus was historical musicology, it now includes fields such as music education.

MULTI-DISCIPLINARY RESOURCES MUSIC EDUCATION RESEARCHERS NEED TO KNOW ABOUT:

JStor
Full text of journal articles from a large number of disciplines, including music. Its specialty is providing all of the back issues of important journals. Therefore, it may not have the most recent articles. 

ERIC premier national bibliographic database of education literature, consisting of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals

UNT RECEIVES ERIC FROM SEVERAL DIFFERENT PROVIDERS, BUT THE DATABASE IS THE SAME; TRY ALL OF THE INTERFACES AND SEE WHICH ONE YOU PREFER. ALSO, IF ONE IS DOWN, OTHERS MAY BE WORKING:

ERIC (FirstSearch interface)

ERIC (EBSCOhost interface)

ERIC (ProQuest interface)

Academic Search Complete
Database providing full-text journal coverage for thousands of journals in diverse academic disciplines, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. It is useful for inter-disciplinary research.

Education in Video
An online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The current release now provides 3,777 titles, equaling approximately 987 hours. 
______________________________________

SUBSCRIPTION STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES:

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of recorded classical music available via streaming access. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo record label catalogues. 

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz offers a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. 

Classical Music Library
From Alexander Street Press.

Music Online: ​Popular Music Library from Alexander Street Press. Provides a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music. From the site's interface you can search all of the content from Alexander Street Press, which includes world music of possible relevance for jazz research.

Music Online: American Music, formerly more accurately called American Song, from Alexander Street Press. A vast collection of American songs including African-American music, blues, rhythm and blues, and many more genres. 

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries from Alexander Street Press.

A
n online streaming music database of the world's musical and aural traditions. The database includes 2,900+ albums, comprising over 42,000 tracks. It includes the published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of numerous influential labels and recording pioneers.

SOME HINTS ABOUT SEARCHING FOR SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

In music and many other fields, research involves reading articles in scholarly journals. Although you cannot search directly for articles in library online catalogs, you can use our online catalog to find out whether our library has a certain journal by doing a journal title search for it.

For journals we have, the journal title search is important, for it reveals online and print holdings. Some of our journals are online only, some print only, and some both.

The best way to begin your search for articles is to search in MUSIC-SPECIFIC electronic article databases. They both cite articles and link to full text of many of them. You can access these and other databases by doing a database search from the library home page.

The databases on our list are not websites that are free for all on the Internet. They are products for which our university buys subscriptions. You must go in through our website to get the free access to which all UNT people are entitled. Authorized UNT users are allowed to access all of our subscription databases remotely by providing EUIDs and passwords.

If an article database does not link to full text of an article it cites, then search the source of that article (journal title, title of book of essays, etc.) in our online catalog to see if we have it. Article databases do not have any information about our print holdings, so they will just say we do not have an article if they do not provide full text. 

Additional Links

top