Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education Research: Important Research Databases


Grove Music Online
The electronic version of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, incorporating the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

WorldCat
A vast online catalog citing items owned by thousands of libraries around the world, with information on which libraries own them; includes entries for musical scores and sound recordings; cites journal holdings, but does not provide article access. 
Use this resource to initiate inter-library loan requests for books and scores we do not have. When you find an entry for a specific item you need, click on the ILL link you will find there to launch your request with our inter-library loan department.
Few libraries lend sound recordings due to their fragility. However, it is permissible to request them in case a lender can be found.
This is not a full-text database.

Please note:  There is also a free version of WorldCat at this URL:
www.worldcat.org
If you use the free WorldCat on a UNT computer, it will include links to our inter-library loan service.
If you enter your ZIP code on the free WorldCat, it will tell you how many miles you would have to travel to the libraries that have the items you want.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (electronic version of earlier print resource Dissertation Abstracts) bibliographic citations for doctoral dissertations and master's theses in all fields completed at numerous accredited colleges and universities worldwide, with emphasis on U.S. schools; abstracts included from 1980 forward; now includes full text of over one million dissertations.

ERIC premier national bibliographic database of education literature, consisting of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals
UNT RECEIVES ERIC FROM SEVERAL DIFFERENT PROVIDERS, BUT THE DATABASE IS THE SAME; TRY ALL OF THE INTERFACES AND SEE WHICH ONE YOU PREFER. ALSO, IF ONE IS DOWN, OTHERS MAY BE WORKING:

ERIC (FirstSearch interface)

ERIC (EBSCOhost interface)

ERIC (ProQuest interface)

Education in Video
An online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The current release now provides 3,777 titles, equaling approximately 987 hours. 

Additional Links

top