Guides: College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences/Humanities Division/Faculty Information: Databases

Databases for CLASS Faculty

Research Databases for Journal Articles, Video, Audio, and More!

The UNT Libraries subscribe to over 300 research databases that contain mostly journal articles, but also video, images, audio, book chapters, and book reviews. Here are just a few databases that may be of interest to CAS. Click on the database link to open.

These databases and hundreds more can be found from the UNT Libraries homepage: http://www.library.unt.edu, under the tab “databases”.
*If accessing off-campus, you will asked for an EUID and EUID password.

English

Academic search complete
Provides a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Business, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. Journals may be browsed or searched.
EBSCOhost.
Provides access to various databases which can all be searched simultaneously. You can choose select/deselect to search all databases simultaneously or you can scroll down and select specific databases.
Literature resource center
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
MLA international bibliography
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in English as well as many other languages. Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

History

Academic search complete
Provides a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Business, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. Journals may be browsed or searched.

UNT Library Catalog
Perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "Books -- Reviews -- Periodicals." This will lead you to 75 periodicals, including several online databases, dedicated to book reviews. Also, perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "History -- Periodicals." This lists 213 journals and other periodicals dedicated to the study of history.

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Bibliothèque nationale de France
The Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF; French: [bi.bli.jɔ.tɛk na.sjɔ.nal də fʁɑ̃s]) is the National Library of France, located in Paris. It is the national repository of all that is published in France.
Le Figaro
From Paris, France. Newspapers and electronic media.
Radio France
This radio station is exclusively intended for general news in all domains in France and Worldwide.
To know the main headlines around the world, major events and real time evolution, listen this radio station.

MLA international bibliography
Provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current.

BDSL Online (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft)
This free resource includes coverage only from 1985 to 1995. The major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch. The catalog entry for the print version: Vols. for 1945 to 1968 and Vols. for 1985-2002
Redalyc: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal
Full text articles from over 800 journals from Spanish and Portuguese-speaking countries. Over half are social science journals and a quarter are scientific journals, but some are humanities and interdisciplinary.
Dialnet
Difusión de Alertas en la Red -- free database courtesy of the Universidad de La Rioja; full text articles from recent issues of over 2700 Spanish language journals, with indexing for another 5700.
3.11 Documentary Film Archives 3.11
ドキュメンタリーフィルムアーカイブ List of the documentary films on the Great East Japan Earthquake on March 11, 2011.
Academic Research Database Repository
Searches multiple databases of various subjects.
Ainugo Corpus アイヌ語口承文芸コーパス
Audio corpus of Ainu Lanuage Folkfore created by the Japanese Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics. This may take a few minutes to access.
Aozora Bunko/青空文庫
Full-texts of Japanese literature.

Japanese databases: C

CiNii Books (Japanese version / English version) Japanese & some European university Libraries union catalog
CiNii Articles 論文情報ナビゲータ (Japanese version / English version) Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo (大学紀要）are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats. See also the Getting the Most of CiNii Articles Database

Philosophy & Religion

ATLA religion database with ATLASerials
The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, more than 511,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 130 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
Religion and philosophy collection
This database includes articles on world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. 1975 - current.
Academic search complete
Provides a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.

College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences/Humanities Division/Faculty Information

Databases for CLASS Faculty

English

History

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Philosophy & Religion

Additional Links