Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Migration and Refugee Journals
Journal of Conflict Transformation and Security
This open access journal's scope covers "not only such security sector reform issues as restructuring security apparatus, reintegration of ex-combatants, clearance of explosive remnants of war and cross-border management, but also the protection of human rights, justice, rule of law and governance."
Mashriq & Mahjar: Journal of Middle East Migration Studies
Published by the Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies at North Carolina State University, this journal "focuses on original research on migration from, to, and within the Middle East, although it's scope also extends to Iran, Turkey, Greece and the Balkans, Egypt, and the Arabian Peninsula, and to all parts of the world affected by Middle Eastern migration, from the Americas and Africa to Australia and South-East Asia."
Forced Migration Review
"Published by the Refugee Studies Centre in the Oxford Department of International Development, University of Oxford. Through FMR, authors from around the world analyse the causes and impacts of displacement; debate policies and programmes; share research findings; reflect the lived experience of displacement; and present examples of good practice and recommendations for policy and action."
Journal of Refugee Studies
"The Journal covers all categories of forcibly displaced people. Contributions that develop theoretical understandings of forced migration, or advance knowledge of concepts, policies and practice are welcomed from both academics and practitioners. Journal of Refugee Studies is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal, and is published in association with the Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford."
Journal of Immigrant and Refugee Studies
A peer-reviewed publication that is interdisciplinary and international in scope, exploring issues such as immigration policy, health and mental health of immigrants, sociological and/or economic implications of immigration/emigration, and business practices in serving immigrants and refugees, present and future programs and services, and other related topics.
AmeriQuests: Narrative, Law and Society is a forum for writing and research about real and metaphorical quests towards America, defined as either an absolute but unachievable objective, or as some place in the Americas. A peer-reviewed, multi-and inter-disciplinary e-journal, AmeriQuests: Narrative, Law and Society was founded by Robert Barsky to contribute in original and creative fashions to the law, the humanities and the social sciences in ways that promote social justice and humanistic studies. Contributions may focus on questions of dislocation, relocation, displacement, homelessness, American dreams and border crossings of all sorts, from the geographical and the social to the psychological.
Comparative Migration Studies
Comparative Migration Studies (CMS) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a platform for articles that focus on comparative research in migration, integration, and ethnic studies
Suggested Interdisciplinary Databases
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Proquest political science
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 460 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 430 core titles. ProQuest Political Science is a deep and broad resource that thoroughly covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
AnthropologyPlus a comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus unites two premier indexes: Harvard Universitys Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdoms Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute). This database offers indexing of periodicals and journals from the early 19th century to today, providing indexing of thousands of sources, including journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries.
AnthroSource indexes and offers full text access to articles from the 32 American Anthropological Association's (AAA) peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.