Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Funding Information Network Partner
The University of North Texas Libraries are now a Funding Information Network (FIN) partner of Candid, formally known as the Foundation Center. The FIN is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers. FIN partners provide free access to the best and most comprehensive information available on foundation and corporate giving, feature Candid resources and fundraising research guidance, and provide workshops and programs for local nonprofits.
The Funding Information Network collection at UNT is located in the Eagle Commons Library in Sycamore Hall. The Candid (formerly Foundation Center) database, Foundation Directory Online Professional
is available to use while inside the Eagle Commons Library, and cannot be accessed remotely. is temporarily available remotely to UNT community members. The database is available to non-UNT users upon request; please email Jennifer Rowe for access. The Eagle Commons Library also houses a collection of print nonprofit resources, such as directories and guides on writing grant proposals.
Pivot provides a variety of features to support efficient identification and management of funding opportunities and potential collaborators:
- Access to local and global funding opportunities from foundations, corporations and government agencies
- Connections to local and global researchers with similar interests
- Tools for managing funding timelines
- Tools for communicating, organizing and collaborating around funding opportunities.
Pivot is available remotely to UNT community members. Non-UNT affiliated users can access the Pivot database from any computer station in the Eagle Commons Library.
Foundation Directory Online Professional
Foundation Directory Online is temporarily available remotely to UNT community members. Users are allowed one 24-hour period of access every 30 days. Users will need to create a free online FDO account, then choose to begin using their "day pass", at which time the clock will begin counting down a 24-hour access period. Once that 24 hours is over, users must wait 30 days for their next "day pass." More details on the "day pass" access model are available in the FDO Essential Day Pass Guide.
If you are not affiliated with UNT, please email firstname.lastname@example.org for online access.
The database contains profiles for grantmakers who fund organizations and includes-
- Over 140,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities
- Over 3.2 million recent grants
- Over half a million indexed trustee, officer, and donor names
- Over 1 million IRS 990s—fully keyword-searchable
- 54 search fields including keyword search
- Detailed grantmaker profiles including contact information, key financial data, application information, and more
FDO quick guide
Use this guide to learn how to access the Foundation Directory Online on the Eagle Commons Library Computers, perform searches, and export funder profiles.
Foundation Directory Online video tutorials
Provides access to federal contracts, grants, and other types of assistance funding.
Provides a central location for applicants to find and apply for federal funding opportunities. Today, the Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for 26 federal grant-making agencies. Not all federal funding opportunities are on Grants.gov and not all require it's use to apply. On the menu bar, click on Outreach for presentations and videos on how to use the site effectively.
Information on grants from the National Endowment for the Arts. Identifies funding categories and provides guidelines and application forms for each category, as well as similar information for managing awarded grants. Includes a database of grants awarded since 2000.
Provides a searchable database of available grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, as well as instructions for managing grant awards.
NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts
Includes funding opportunities from the National Institutes of Health. The search page also has links to information such as a grants process overview, types of grant programs, how to apply for grants, and grant compliance and oversight.
NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT)
Provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.
NSF Funding Opportunity Search
Searches databases of funding opportunities and/or titles and abstracts of previous years' awards from the National Science Foundation. This search page includes links to an advanced funding search page and to a page on how to prepare proposals.
GrantSpace.org, a freely available website of Candid (formerly the Foundation Center), offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations. At GrantSpace, you can-
• View video recordings of live discussions with funders
• Listen to podcasts featuring experts in the field
• Get information about opportunities in your field of interest
• Increase your expertise in fundraising and management
• Attend training and events, in-person and online
• Search for Funding Information Network locations by zipcode