Find streaming films in the library collection
Faculty, please use the Streaming Media Faculty Request Form to request any streaming films not found in the library collection, that you would like to use in your teaching. Streaming film rights can be purchased for your classes, if enough advanced notice is provided. Be aware that sometimes the licensing process for streaming films can take months.
To search the library's collection of streaming films by topic or to search for a specific title, the most comprehensive way is to search the "books and more" tab on www.library.unt.edu by keyword or by title. Then use the facets on the left side of the page to narrow by Resource Type to "video/film". Then limit the Format or Media Type to "digital files" for streaming film content only.
You may also choose to search or browse within some of the streaming film databases below. All of the streaming titles contained in these databases are indexed in the library catalog (the "books and more" tab on library.unt.edu). The video tutorial below shows how to search the library catalog for streaming films.
- KanopyTitles not yet licensed can be requested by searching the Kanopy platform and filling out the form requesting access to the title that you need. Media Library staff will receive and process these requests as quickly as possible. The form requires your name, email address, and a brief explanation for your request. If you are selecting a film for a specific course please include when you will be teaching the course and whether or not the movie you need will continue to be assigned in future semesters. Most licenses on Kanopy expire after one year so future access will be contingent upon extending or renewing licenses.
- Docuseek2Docuseek 2 provides access to more than 400 streaming documentary films on a wide range of social science and humanities topics, with a strong focus on social issues, environmental studies and political science.
- Swank Digital CampusSwank Digital Campus provides legal access to course-related films. Includes feature films, documentaries, and films on many topics.
- Academic video onlineAcademic Video Online is a multidisciplinary video collection that provides access to more than 67,000 videos covering subject areas including anthropology, business, cousenling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Selected Non Profit Videos
The grantwriter's start-up kit: a beginner's guide to grant proposals by Call Number: MV 6154ISBN: 078795196XLocated at Chilton Hall Media Library
- What is Philanthropy? (streaming video)If you think you know about giving, think again! What is Philanthropy? is a feature length documentary that portrays and discusses the concept of giving within the American context through a critical lens and a variety of perspectives.
- Accounting and finance clips: budgeting byStreaming video
- Philanthropy and Capitalism (streaming video)The economic, social and environmental issues of our time gradually transform our worldview. Soon, it will become essential to redefine the standards of our capitalist societies and to put capitalism to the test in the face of the new realities of man's place in the world's economy. Are the concepts of entrepreneurship and sustainable development compatible?
- Marketing Nonprofit Organizations in Today's Economy (streaming video)Discusses the emerging emphasis on marketing activities by noprofit organizations such as hospitals, colleges and government agencies. How nonprofit organization apply the marketing concept.