Part of the challenge with academic library research can be knowing where to start. Most of the time you will want to start with a database, which is a searchable collection of research. 

The only problem is each database has its own unique set of information, and UNT Libraries has over 700 of them. To identify which database to start with consider:

• Major- The A-Z database list lets you sort by subject. Try looking up your major for recommended databases.
• Scope - some databases are very specific (this one is just marketing data based on zipcode) whereas others are broad and useful for any discipline (Academic Search Complete is a perfect starting place for many searches). 
• Resource type - some databases specialize in online articles, whereas others stream videos, or feature newspapers.  

Recommendations:

• Online Article search has 92% of the articles we have at UNT making it a great starting place. 
•  Academic search complete is our most popular database. Provides a scholarly full text journal coverage for articles in nearly all academic areas of study.

If you are not sure which subject database to search for in your field, browse Subject Guides or contact a Subject Librarian Do you want a quick recommendation? Ask Us your library questions

Every database is different, but generally you will:

1. Select your database - The two most popular are Academic Search Complete and Online Articles Search*. 

• Off campus, enter your EUID & Password.

2. Enter your search term(s) for your topic.

• Note Subject headings are what the article is essentially about and can help guide your search terms

3.  Review results - see if you need to redo your search terms or select an item.

• Remember research is a process, so you can always modify your search.

4. Refine your results.

• Limit to Full text if you need complete articles (i.e. don't have time to request articles through Interlibrary loan).
• Limit to Peer Reviewed IF you need to limit to that type of resource.
• Date and other filters available. Those mentioned filters are on the left column of the screen in EBSCO, for example.

5. Review results again. Click on the title to send an article to yourself in a citation format.

*Online Article search also has an advanced search (Online Find Articles Advanced Search) with pop up options. Popular filters include "Full Text" and/ "Scholarly, Peer Reviewed articles" (Feel free to check your assignment if "peer reviewed" articles are required, and use this limiter to help reduce your search time). If you use this resource, you may get more results, spend more time going through the interdisciplinary results, and refining your search when compared to a subject specific database.

You can use our Ask Us services (Email AskUs@unt.edu) for research tips and help.

A Boolean search is a search using the words AND, OR and NOT between the keywords. These words have a special function when used in a database.

• The search [blue whale AND Pacific Ocean] will find all of the articles that contain both words. AND makes your search narrower.
• The search [blue whale OR Balaenoptera musculus] will find all articles that contain one word, or the other, or both. OR is placed between synonyms and makes your search broader.
• The search [blue whale NOT Atlantic Ocean] will find all articles containing "blue whale" and exclude the articles that also contain "Atlantic Ocean." NOT excludes articles that you don't want. 
• Quotation marks around a phrase will ensure those words are searched in that order For example, "Common Cold" pulls up article on the common cold and not articles that mentions the word in a different order like "cold weather is common".