Professor Michael Savoie, PhD
Logistics and Operations Management
Phone: (940) 369-5779
Office: BLB 331A
Michael.Savoie@unt.edu
Professor Clinton Purtell, PhD
Logistics and Operations Management
Phone: (940) 565-2937
Office: BLB 331E
Clinton.Purtell@unt.edu
|
"AMC General praises RRAD for hard work, dedication" by U.S. Army Materiel Command is licensed under CC BY 2.0. |
This guide will help you successfully navigate UNT Libraries and its resources and others for the OSPM 4850: Lean Manufacturing course. If you need help using these resources or finding others, feel free to contact me, your Business Librarian, Yvonne Dooley, at yvonne.dooley@unt.edu or (940) 565-3980. Also, be sure and take advantage of our free subscription to the Wall Street Journal, courtesy of the Ryan College of Business. |
Mind Tools Content Team. (n.d.). Root Cause Analysis: Tracing a Problem to Its Origin. MindTools. https://www.mindtools.com/ag6pkn9/root-cause-analysis
Spear, Steven, and H. Kent Bowen. (1999). “Decoding the DNA of the Toyota Production System.” Harvard Business Review 77 (5): 96–106. https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=2216294&scope=site (login with EUID and password, if remote)
Value Stream Mapping (VSM) Tutorial with Examples & Tips. (n.d.). BCM. https://asq.org/quality-resources/lean/value-stream-mapping
2 Second Lean by
2 Second Lean will flip your world right-side up. It's a practical way to improve your life every day by making a simple 2 second improvement. Join author, business expert, radio show host, and international speaker, Paul A. Akers, as he takes you on a LEAN journey that will transform every aspect your life... from your home to the office.
Cartoon Guide to Statistics by
If you have ever looked for P-values by shopping at P mart, tried to watch the Bernoulli Trails on "People's Court," or think that the standard deviation is a criminal offense in six states, then you need The Cartoon Guide to Statistics to put you on the road to statistical literacy. The Cartoon Guide to Statistics covers all the central ideas of modern statistics: the summary and display of data, probability in gambling and medicine, random variables, Bernoulli Trails, the Central Limit Theorem, hypothesis testing, confidence interval estimation, and much more--all explained in simple, clear, and yes, funny illustrations. Never again will you order the Poisson Distribution in a French restaurant! This updated version features all new material.
Gemba Kaizen: a Commonsense, Low-Cost Approach to Management by
Successful executives must learn to apply the concept of kaizen, which means making simple, common-sense improvements and refinements to critical business processes. The result: greater productivity, quality, and profits achieved with minimal cost, time, and effort invested.
The Goal by
Written in a fast-paced thriller style, 'The Goal' contains a serious message for all managers in industry and explains the ideas which underline the Theory of Constraints developed by the author.
Kaizen Express by
Written by John Shook, who learned about lean management while working at Toyota helped transfer lean systems from Japan to the rest of the world. Kaizen Express was originally developed as an aid for teaching the essentials of TPS to Japanese readers and non-Japanese readers working together at Japanese factories around the world. The book guides individuals and teams through the fundamentals of lean principles and implementation, stressing the importance of learning by doing.
The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook: a Quick Reference Guide to Nearly 100 Tools for Improving Quality and Speed by
Vital tools for implementing Lean Six Sigma--what they are, how they work, and which to use The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook is today's most complete and results-based reference to the tools and concepts needed to understand, implement, and leverage Lean Six Sigma. The only guide that groups tools by purpose and use, this hands-on reference provides: Analyses of nearly 100 tools and methodologies--from DMAIC and Pull Systems to Control Charts and Pareto Charts Detailed explanations of each tool to help you know how, when, and why to use it for maximum efficacy Sections for each tool explaining how to create it, how to interpret what you find, and expert tips Lean Six Sigma is today's leading technique to maximize production efficiency and maintain control over each step in the managerial process. With The Lean Six Sigma Pocket Toolbook, you'll discover how to propel your organization to new levels of competitive success--one tool at a time.
Lean Thinking by
Expanded, updated, and more relevant than ever, this bestselling business classic by two internationally renowned management analysts describes a business system for the twenty-first century that supersedes the mass production system of Ford, the financial control system of Sloan, and the strategic system of Welch and GE. It is based on the Toyota (lean) model, which combines operational excellence with value-based strategies to produce steady growth through a wide range of economic conditions. In contrast with the crash-and-burn performance of companies trumpeted by business gurus in the 1990s, the firms profiled in Lean Thinking -- from tiny Lantech to midsized Wiremold to niche producer Porsche to gigantic Pratt & Whitney -- have kept on keeping on, largely unnoticed, along a steady upward path through the market turbulence and crushed dreams of the early twenty-first century. Meanwhile, the leader in lean thinking -- Toyota -- has set its sights on leadership of the global motor vehicle industry in this decade. Instead of constantly reinventing business models, lean thinkers go back to basics by asking what the customer really perceives as value. (It's often not at all what existing organizations and assets would suggest.) The next step is to line up value-creating activities for a specific product along a value stream while eliminating activities (usually the majority) that don't add value. Then the lean thinker creates a flow condition in which the design and the product advance smoothly and rapidly at the pull of the customer (rather than the push of the producer). Finally, as flow and pull are implemented, the lean thinker speeds up the cycle of improvement in pursuit of perfection. The first part of this book describes each of these concepts and makes them come alive with striking examples. Lean Thinking clearly demonstrates that these simple ideas can breathe new life into any company in any industry in any country. But most managers need guidance on how to make the lean leap in their firm. Part II provides a step-by-step action plan, based on in-depth studies of more than fifty lean companies in a wide range of industries across the world. Even those readers who believe they have embraced lean thinking will discover in Part III that another dramatic leap is possible by creating an extended lean enterprise for each of their product families that tightly links value-creating activities from raw materials to customer. In Part IV, an epilogue to the original edition, the story of lean thinking is brought up-to-date with an enhanced action plan based on the experiences of a range of lean firms since the original publication of Lean Thinking. Lean Thinking does not provide a new management "program" for the one-minute manager. Instead, it offers a new method of thinking, of being, and, above all, of doing for the serious long-term manager -- a method that is changing the world.
Learning to See by
Much more important, these simple maps - often drawn on scrap paper - showed where steps could be eliminated, flows smoothed, and pull systems introduced in order to create a truly lean value stream for each product family. This simple tool makes it possible for you to see through the clutter of a complex plant. You'll soon be able to identify all of the processing steps along the path from raw materials to finished goods for each product and all of the information flows going back from the customer through the plant and upstream to suppliers.
The Machine That Changed the World by
This volume carefully traces the rise of the Toyota system from its take-off point in Ford's mass production system to its spread across the world, starting with the NUMMI joint venture with General Motors in California and now advancing in Europe, Latin America, and East Asia as well. It then identifies and describes the advantages of this system, which needs less of everything including time, human effort, inventories, and investment to produce products with fewer defects in smaller volumes at lower costs for fragmenting markets.
The Simplicity of Lean by
In The Simplicity of Lean, Philip Holt provides a comprehensive handbook of the Lean principles, presented in an accessible and easy to apply manner. The book is a step-by-step guide to the Lean Thinking that makes organizations more efficient and effective. The book offers the necessary context of how to apply Lean Thinking to make your Lean Transformation successful.
The Six Sigma Handbook, Revised and Expanded by
The most comprehensive Six Sigma reference available, now revised and expanded Completely rewritten and reorganized, this second edition of The Six Sigma Handbookcovers all the basic statistics and qualityimprovement tools of the Six Sigma quality management system. This new edition reflects the developments in Six Sigma over the past few years and will help maintain the book's position as the leading comprehensive guide to Six Sigma. Key changes to this edition include: New chapters on DFSS (Design for Six Sigma); Minitab, the most popular statistical software for Six Sigma; Six Sigma philosophy and values; flowcharting; and SIPOC Coverage of the core problem-solving technique DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control) Dozens of downloadable, customizable Six Sigma work sheets New material on important advanced Six Sigma tools such as FMEA (Failure Mode and Effects Analysis)
Toyota Production System by
In this classic text, Taiichi Ohno--inventor of the Toyota Production System and Lean manufacturing--shares the genius that sets him apart as one of the most disciplined and creative thinkers of our time. Combining his candid insights with a rigorous analysis of Toyota's attempts at Lean production, Ohno's book explains how Lean principles can improve any production endeavor.
The Toyota Way by
How to speed up business processes, improve quality, and cut costs in any industry In factories around the world, Toyota consistently makes the highest-quality cars with the fewest defects of any competing manufacturer, while using fewer man-hours, less on-hand inventory, and half the floor space of its competitors. The Toyota Way is the first book for a general audience that explains the management principles and business philosophy behind Toyota's worldwide reputation for quality and reliability.
The Toyota Way to Continuous Improvement: Linking Strategy and Operational Excellence to Achieve Superior Performance by
The Toyota Way to Continuous Improvement looks critically at lean deployments and identifies the root causes of why most of them fail. Using the Plan-Do-Check-Adjust (PDCA) methodology, Liker and Franz contrast true PDCA thinking to that of the popular, superficial approach of copying "lean solutions." They describe the importance of developing people and show how the Toyota Way principles support and drive continuous improvement. The authors bring to light some of the difficulties the sensei faces, such as bureaucracies, closed-minded mechanical thinking, and the challenges of developing lean coaches who can facilitate real change.
