American Civil War: Letters and Diairies provides access to letters, diaries, and memoirs by both the famous and the unknown, and from Northern and Southern perspectives during the American Civil War. Writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, seamen, and spies are all gathered in this collection.

Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth, American Drama reflects American dramatic writing in all its richness and diversity: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented. Major dramatists include David Belasco, Rachel Crothers, Augustin Daly, Clyde Fitch, Edward Harrigan, James Herne, William Dean Howells and Joaquin Miller.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America offers a comprehensive view into the interactions between Indigenous Peoples and Europeans. It spans from their initial contact to the civil rights movement, featuring material from the renowned Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 consists of U.S. government and tribal records on American Indians throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.

From early topographical sketches and pioneers’ accounts, to photographs of Buffalo Bill and his ‘Wild West’ stars, explore the fact and the fiction of westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.

Black Abolitionist Papers details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. The collection covers the period 1830-1865 and contains articles, documents, letters, literary works.

Children’s Literature and Culture showcases a broad range of richly illustrated children's books which reveals the history and literature of childhood between the 1820s and 1920s. Rare books and unique works of art trace the development of children’s publishing from early mass-produced items through to the flourishing print culture that followed.

Colonial America provides access to historical documents on North America from 1606-1822.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography,

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

Early Encounters in North America documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534-1850. It provides personal accounts and unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, exploreres, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. This collection brings together published and unpublished accounts including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Additionally more than 1,200 quality color images, including works by George Catlin and John James Audobon are provided.

Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, pamphlets and more.

Empire Online from Adam Matthew provides manuscript, printed, and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials cover the last five centuries and are accompanied by secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps, and an interactive chronology. It charts the rise and fall of empires around the world. Empire Online provides exploration of colonial history, politics, culture, and society. It is organized into five sections: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969 Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire The Visible Empire Religion & Empire and Race, Class, Colonialism, Imperialism.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c. 1800-1920, comprises fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, and magazines addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

Indigenous Peoples of North America covers the history of Native American tribes and supporting organizations in both the United States and Canada. Beginning with the sixteenth century and going well into the twentieth century, users can access manuscripts, drawings and sketches, photographs, maps, legal materials, population census records, newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations as well as indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Topics of interest include trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Indian treaty policy, Dawes Severalty and the allotment system, Indian language and linguistics, water and fishing rights, civil rights, the American Indian movement, and much more.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides access to personal narratives, letters, diairies, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories from immigrants to America and Canada. Contents begin around 1840 and extend to the present with a heavy focus from 1920 to 1980.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The index contains more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Dates of Coverage: Colonial to 1950

ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. The collections are organized into modules within these popular subject areas. UNT is subscribed select modules and collections, and not the entire platform.

The SHAFR Guide is an annotated bibliography of U.S. Foreign Relations since 1600. It provides an annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations. It aims to jump-start the research of both students and advanced scholars.

Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice covers slavery around the world, spanning the years 1490-2007. The conditions and legacy of slavery are presented through historical documents, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and images.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database provides the most comprehensive source of data currently available on the trans-Atlantic slave trade. The database contains records of nearly 35,000 separate slaving voyages, gleaned from original documents and historical publications located in archives, libraries, and other institutions throughout the world. Dates of Coverage: 15141866.