Interlibrary Loan Service
If there is a book or article you are looking for but it is not owned by the UNT Libraries, you can make a request for it through our InterLibrary Loan service. For more information about InterLibrary Loan, see our service page on InterLibrary Loan and Document Delivery.
Finding Peer Reviewed Articles
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
The Referee Shirt icon indicates the journal is refereed or peer reviewed.
Where to Start
There are several approaches to searching for scholarly literature via the UNT Libraries. Consider starting your search for scholarly articles in one of the databases below. If you do not find favorable results in the databases, try searching in the UNT Libraries' "Online Articles" search in the box underneath the suggested databases. "Online Articles" simultaneously searches within almost all of the UNT Libraries' subscription databases. Your "Online Articles" search results will be interdisciplinary.
Or you may want to start by searching or browsing within individual emergency management journals. Click on the journal titles below, to access the journals via the UNT Libraries' subscription.
Journal Article Databases
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
- Inderscience OnlineThe Risk, Safety and Emergency Management Journals Collection--
This collection of 26 journals provides original research, reviews, technical and conference reports, case studies, news and
commentaries on this area of fundamental concern to any society. The titles range from general - risk assessment and management,
critical infrastructures, and reliability and safety - to specific areas of concern. Within safety, titles includes vehicle safety, nuclear
safety and food safety. Includes International Journal of Emergency Management - National Emergency Training Center Library Operated by the U.S. Fire AdministrationInformation resource for fire, emergency management, and other all-hazards subjects. Some full text available online.
*This is a great place to search for emergency management journal articles, but you will often have to take citations from this database and find them via the UNT Libraries collections, as the full text links in this database are not synced with the UNT Libraries collections.
Advanced Searching
Create Boolean searches using the keywords.
A Boolean search is a search using the words AND, OR and NOT between the keywords. These words have a special function when used in a database.
- The search [blue whale AND Pacific Ocean] will find all of the articles that contain both words. AND makes your search narrower.
- The search [blue whale OR Balaenoptera musculus] will find all articles that contain one word, or the other, or both. OR is placed between synonyms and makes your search broader.
- The search [blue whale NOT Atlantic Ocean] will find all articles containing "blue whale" and exclude the articles that also contain "Atlantic Ocean." NOT excludes articles that you don't want.
Use the truncation symbol (or wildcard symbol) to search for word variations.
You can avoid doing multiple searches for variations on word endings using the truncation symbol * (the asterisk) in most databases. Entering the keyword "blue whale*" will look for both blue whale and blue whales.
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase
You can put quotation marks around a set of words to limit the results to only those that have those words in that exact order.
Add keywords to limit the type of article you retrieve.
If you want a literature review, add "AND review" to your keywords. To find a research study, add "AND study" to your keywords.
Enter your Boolean searches in the Advanced Search of a database.
It's easier to use the Advanced Search in a database to enter your Boolean searches because it gives you multiple boxes with the Boolean operators between them. If you are using a search with multiple search strings, enter OR within the search boxes and AND between the search boxes, e.g., [blue whale OR Balaenoptera musculus] AND [feeding range OR feeding grounds] AND [Pacific Ocean].
Use available filters to limit results
Most databases include filters for things like data range, resource type, and language. Use filters as appropriate to remove less relevant results.