Guides: AGER 5790: Needs Assessment, Program Planning and Evaluation in the Services for the Elderly: Databases

Databases suggested for literature searches

Interdisciplinary Social Science

Web of Science
Web of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data; users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
Notes: UNT may not subscribe to all titles on this platform: full access is not guaranteed. If you wish to obtain a copy of something the library does not have access to, request the item via ILLiad.

SocINDEX with full text
SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO is a sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records. The database contains full text for 860+ journals, 830+ books, and 16,800+ conference papers abstracts for 1,300+ core journals, 450+ priority journals, and 2,900+ selective coverage journals extensive indexing for books, conference papers and non-periodical content and 25,000+ author profiles. Topics covered include: abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, social development and psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history and research, sociological theory, substance abuse and addictions, violence, and many others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource some citations date back to 1895.
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. This resource delivers a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities. Scopus allows users to search the literature, follow citations, and see who cited an article. Researchers can also use Scopus metrics to help demonstrate the value of their work.

Social Science Premium
The Social Science Premium Collection provides a range of full-text and index resources across social science disciplines. Abstracts, indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and more are included. Coverage includes applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, linguistics, language behavior, political science, sociology, and more. Research from across regions, countries, markets, and disciplines with titles from around the world are brought together in this database.

Behavioral Science

PsycInfo
PsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current. Clinical, social sciences

Psychology & behavioral sciences collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication.

Health and Medical

MEDLINE
MEDLINE content is included in PubMed. MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication.

Health source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides patrons with a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature, with coverage of an array of relevant topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. This database includes more than 355 full-text journals and more than 830 abstracted and indexed journals.

PubMed
About 88% of the content in PubMed is included in Medline database. PubMed Abstracts for journal articles covering the broad realm of biomedical literature covered in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and HEALTHSTAR, life science journals (publisher-supplied citations), and online books. Includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and prSycamore Libraryinical sciences. Uses MESH headings as well as keyword searching. , life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.

Gerontology

Ageline
Ageline via Ebscohost produced by AARP and is the primary research database for social gerontology. Sources indexed include journals, books, book chapters, reports, and consumer guides and citations include abstracts provided by AARP. Over 600 scholarly and consumer-oriented serials are reviewed on a regular basis. Dates of Coverage: 1978 - Current, with selective coverage from 1966 to 1977.

Education

ERIC
Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Contents: Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966.

Systematic Reviews

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library is a collection of healthcare databases that includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.