Web of Science Tutorial Videos

Check out the links below for video tutorials on how to use and search for articles within the Web of Science database.

• Web of Science Training Website
• Web of Science YouTube Channel
  • Topics and All Fields Search - learn how to use the All Fields and Topics options to improve search results. Under 2-minute video.
  • Filter Results Using Refine - learn how to use filters to narrow down search results. Under 2-minute video.
  • Build Better Searches - learn search strategies to use for better search results. A 5-minute video.

How To: Web of Science

Go to library.unt.edu, select the Databases & E-Resources tab, enter in a database name and click it from the drop down menu. In the example below, Web of Science is entered into the search bar and appears below as a link.

On the Web of Science homepage, turn off Smart Search located in the upper right corner. Under the Documents section, type in keywords into the search bar. In the example below, the keywords are bat* echolocation.

The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol and searches for spelling variations such as bat and bats. On this guide, click the Search Strategies tab to the left to learn more about using wildcard symbols and five other helpful search techniques.

Next click the drop down menu labeled All Fields and select Topic. This searches for keywords in the article's title and abstract, or summary of an article. In the example below, the search is set to Topic for the keywords bat* echolocation. The search results will show articles with the keywords bat/bats and echolocation in the articles' titles and abstracts.

On the search results page, the Refine Your Results task bar to the left has filters to apply and narrow down search results. Under the Document Types section, select Article and then the purple Refine button to filter the search results to journal articles. The Publication Years section filters the year an article was published to show more current or past research.

On the search results page, keywords and applied filters are highlighted in yellow. In the example below, the keywords bats and echolocation are highlighted. The year 2021 is highlighted in yellow because the Publication Years filter was applied to include articles published in the last five years.

On the search results page, the article's title, author(s), journal information, and abstract are shown. Click the green Find It button to access the full-text PDF of an article.

How To: Download Full-Text PDFs

The green Find It button links to the journal the article is published in. On the journal's webpage for the article, look for a button labeled PDF, Download PDF, or View PDF. In the example below, the button for the full-text PDF of the article is located in a tool bar under the article title's and labeled as PDF.

Clicking the PDF button will trigger an automatic download of the article's PDF file to the computer or open a new tab in a PDF viewer. In the PDF viewer, select Save (the file icon) located in the upper right corner of the webpage to download the PDF file to the computer.

Webpages for articles have different layouts for each journal. Common places to find the button to download the full-text PDF of an article are above the article title, on the right side or left side of an article's webpage, or under the article title. Below are a view examples of varying PDF buttons and their locations.

Above Article Title - View PDF

Right Side - PDF

Upper Right Corner - Download PDF

How To: Get Unavailable Full-Text of Articles

Did you click the green Find It button and see the message "Sorry, UNT does not have access to this material"? Is the full-text PDF of an article unavailable through UNT Libraries? Request it from Interlibrary Loan!

In the example below, this article is unavailable to access through UNT Libraries. At the bottom of the page, click Request this item through ILLiad to create an automatically filled out form with the article's information and submit a request for the full-text PDF of the article.

Check out the Interlibrary Loan service webpage to learn how use this free service. Did You Know? Interlibrary Loan has two other names: ILL and ILLiad.

After clicking Request this item through ILLiad, enter your EUID and password to login to your ILLiad account. Once logged in, the Article/Book Chapter request form is automatically filled out and click Submit located at the bottom of the form to send the request. The example below, shows a filled out ILL form for the article Automated bat call classification using deep convolutional neural networks.

An email is sent to your UNT email address when the article is available for download. Log in to your ILLiad account using your EUID and password. The example below shows how to log in to your ILLiad account by selecting Accounts located at the top right of the UNT Libraries homepage.

Once logged in to your ILLiad account, go to Electronically Received Articles and select View to download the article's full-text PDF. The example below shows the requested article Automated bat call classification using deep convolutional neural networks is available for download under Electronically Received Articles.