How To: Online Articles Search

Go to library.unt.edu and enter keywords into the search bar on the library's homepage. In the example below, the keywords entered are bee waggle dance.

Click the Limit To... drop down menu located to the right and select Online Articles from the list. This will redirect to search results of articles that match the keywords entered into the search bar. In the example below, the search results will show articles that match the keywords bee waggle dance.

On the search results page, the Refine Your Results task bar to the left has filters to apply and narrow down search results. The filters full-text, peer-reviewed, and journal article are automatically applied for every Online Articles search.

• Full-Text = the search results show articles with a full-text PDF available for download.
• Peer-Reviewed = the search results show articles that were reviewed by peers within the same field. Watch Peer Review in 3 Minutes to learn more about the peer-review the process.
• Journal article = the search results show articles published in scholarly journals. Most articles published in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.

On the search results page, the article's title, author(s), and journal information is displayed. The article's listing has several features on it to view the abstract, find the full-text, and cite the article.

• Quick Look = click the blue button to see an article's full abstract. An abstract is a summary of an article and is used to better understand if an article is relevant to your research topic.

• Find It = click the green button to link to the journal an article is published in to download the full-text PDF.

• Link = click the chain link icon to copy the stable link for an article.
• Citation = click the quotation icon to generate a citation for an article. Multiple citation styles including APA, MLA, and Chicago are available.
• Email = click the envelope icon to email a citation for an article.

How To: Download Full-Text PDFs

The green Find It button links to the journal the article is published in. On the journal's webpage for the article, look for a button labeled PDF, Download PDF, or View PDF. In the example below, the button for the full-text PDF of the article is located in a tool bar under the article title's and labeled as PDF.

Clicking the PDF button will trigger an automatic download of the article's PDF file to the computer or open a new tab in a PDF viewer. In the PDF viewer, select Save (the file icon) located in the upper right corner of the webpage to download the PDF file to the computer.

Webpages for articles have different layouts for each journal. Common places to find the button to download the full-text PDF of an article are above the article title, on the right side or left side of an article's webpage, or under the article title. Below are a view examples of varying PDF buttons and their locations.

Above Article Title - View PDF

Right Side - PDF

Upper Right Corner - Download PDF