Writing Resources - ENGL 4440: Shakespeare, ENGL 5560: Studies in Teaching Literature - Teaching Shakespeare

Course Readings and Films

Teaching Shakespeare with Purpose by Ayanna Thompson; Laura Turchi
ISBN: 9781472599643
Publication Date: 2016-01-28
What does it mean to teach Shakespeare with purpose? It means freeing teachers from the notion that teaching Shakespeare means teaching everything, or teaching "Western Civilisation" and universal themes. Instead, this invigorating new book equips teachers to enable student-centred discovery of these complex texts. Because Shakespeare's plays are excellent vehicles for many topics -history, socio-cultural norms and mores, vocabulary, rhetoric, literary tropes and terminology, performance history, performance strategies - it is tempting to teach his plays as though they are good for teaching everything. This lens-free approach, however, often centres the classroom on the teacher as the expert and renders Shakespeare's plays as fixed, determined, and dead. Teaching Shakespeare with Purpose shows teachers how to approach Shakespeare's works as vehicles for collaborative exploration, to develop intentional frames for discovery, and to release the texts from over-determined interpretations. In other words, this book presents how to teach Shakespeare's plays as living, breathing, and evolving texts.

Films:

Haider, dir. Vishal Bhardwaj, 2014 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b5074172~S6

The Merchant of Venice, dir. Michael Radford, 2004 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b6198675~S6

Much Ado About Nothing, dir. Kenneth Branagh, 1993 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b5729828~S6

Throne of Blood, dir. Akira Kurosawa, 1957 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b5423292~S6

Hamlet, dir. Gregory Doran, 2009 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b5527080~S6

Shakespeare Behind Bars, dir. Hank Rogerson, 2005 https://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b5723408~S6

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Sample Essay for Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting from Purdue OWL
This handout compares and contrasts the three terms, gives some pointers, and includes a short excerpt that you can use to practice these skills.

Summarizing

Paraphrasing

Quoting

Must reference the original source
The text is much shorter than the original text. (For example, one may write a single page to summarize a four-page article.)
Must use your own words, usually with a very limited use of quotations.

Must reference the original source
The text produced may be shorter or longer than the original text

Must use your own words

Must reference the original source
The text produced is the exact length of the original text quoted (unless ellipses are used)

Use the original author’s exact words
Put quotation marks around the original author’s exact words
Include the page number of the original source from which you borrowed the author’s original language.

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

MLA Guide from Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the Works Cited page, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
MLA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
APA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OWL
This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
Chicago Manual of Style, Author Date Sample Paper
Author Date Sample Paper

more...
Chicago Manual of Style, Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper
Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper

Information about Poems, Sonnets, and Plays

Writing About Poetry
Writing about poetry can be one of the most demanding tasks that many students face in a literature class. Poetry, by its very nature, makes demands on a writer who attempts to analyze it that other forms of literature do not. So how can you write a clear, confident, well-supported essay about poetry? This handout offers answers to some common questions about writing about poetry.
What about MLA format?
All research papers on literature use MLA format, as it is the universal citation method for the field of literary studies. Whenever you use a primary or secondary source, whether you are quoting or paraphrasing, you will make parenthetical citations in the MLA format [Ex. (Smith 67).] Your Works Cited list will be the last page of your essay. Consult the OWL handout on MLA for further instructions.
Sound and Rhyme
When getting away from the straight rhythms of a poem, we get into the sounds. As mentioned above, if the meter is the poetic equivalent of the horizontal movement in a piece of music, then sound is the vertical movement. If meter serves to cut up the poem into time, then sound serves to configure the poem into a melody or sorts. This means that repeated sounds cohere the poem in much the same way that repeated rhythms do. There are nearly as many aspects to sound as there is to rhythm. The first is perhaps the one with which people are typically most familiar.
Reading a Play
This resource should help you read and write about plays.

How to use RefWorks

RefWorks Introduction
Learn how to use RefWorks, the reference and research manager available to all UNT students, faculty, and staff.

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue OWL

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

Installing MS Office 365 ProPlus

https://it.unt.edu/installoffice365

ePortfolio LibGuide
UNT’s new ePortfolio system provides you with an opportunity to connect your experiences on campus and in
your community with demonstrable skills for your future career. Learn how to begin building and archiving a
personal repertoire of marketable experiences in your ePortfolio.

UNT Writing Lab

UNT Writing Lab
At the UNT Writing Lab, we offer free writing tutoring to all currently enrolled UNT students in all disciplines and at all stages of their academic careers--from English composition students to graduate students writing theses and dissertations. We do more than merely proofread; we teach you strategies and techniques to improve your writing for the long term.
We accept both appointments and walk-ins at our Sage Hall, Room 152 location. However, to ensure time with a tutor, we recommend setting an appointment.

Student Publishing Opportunities

Student Publishing Opportunities
If you are interested in publishing your article take a look at these possibilities.

University Libraries

ENGL 4440: Shakespeare, ENGL 5560: Studies in Teaching Literature - Teaching Shakespeare

How to do a Close Reading

Thesis

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

Course Readings and Films

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Information about Poems, Sonnets, and Plays

How to use RefWorks

Annotated Bibliography

Installing MS Office 365 ProPlus

UNT Writing Lab

Student Publishing Opportunities

ENGL 4440: Shakespeare, ENGL 5560: Studies in Teaching Literature - Teaching Shakespeare

Course Readings and Films

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Information about Poems, Sonnets, and Plays

How to use RefWorks

Annotated Bibliography

Installing MS Office 365 ProPlus

UNT Writing Lab

Student Publishing Opportunities

Additional Links