Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for the title of the journal which published the article in: Ulrichsweb
Refereed, indicated by the Referee Shirt icon, means the journal is peer reviewed.
A trade journal is a periodical that targets individuals working in a particular industry, trade or profession. They are often published by industry or professional associations. The articles focus on trends, best practices and events in that field. New practices and trends often appear in trade journals before they appear in scholarly journals.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to select the types of sources that will be included in the search results. It is usually in a list of items called "Publication Type," "Source Type," or "Content Type." Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Here is a list of suggested journals:
That's an important question because the UNT Libraries provide access to over 500 electronic databases! There are four approaches to this:
There are several choices when you use the Databases tab:
1. Search for a Database by its name,
2. The Go Directly to menu of all database names,
3. Browse Subjects menu, which takes you to all databases associated with the selected subject, and
4. Frequently Used databases, which are mainly multidisciplinary.
When in doubt, use a multidisciplinary database like Academic Search Complete from EBSCOhost or Proquest Research Library.
Online Articles is a discovery tool that allows you to search 92% of the Libraries' electronic databases simultaneously. Searching in Online Articles is a good way to:
Start your Online Articles search on the Libraries homepage; select the Online Articles tab from the central search box. Then follow these steps to find articles:
