Welcome to the BUSI 3660 library guide! To get started on your "International Business Virtual Presentation" assignment: 

• See if your country is listed among these Culture Shock! books in UNT Libraries
• Try some of the following sample searches and terms while using the online catalog or suggested databases mentioned under, "How do I find articles?":
  • culture and business etiquette and France
  • Mexico and culture; France and social etiquette; business presentations and Brazil; business meetings and Saudi Arabia; nonverbal communication and Japan; China and communication technology
  • corporate culture, business etiquette, nonverbal communication, business presentations, meetings, information technology, interpersonal communication.

Also, be sure and take advantage of our free subscription to the Wall Street Journal, courtesy of the Ryan College of Business!

Websites

Free internet resources that provide both country and international business information:

• CIA World Factbook: Overview of countries with the most updated datasets. Provides information on history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
• globalEDGE: Collections of international business and trade information, data, research tools, learning resources, and a directory of additional resources on global business activities.
• Culture Crossing Guide: Database of cross-cultural information about every country in the world. This user-built guide allows people from all walks of life to share essential tips with each other about how to navigate our increasingly borderless world with savvy and sensitivity.

Books

Access the library online catalog for books on international communication like the ones below (you must login with your EUID and password for remote access to electronic resources):

• Culture Crossing: Discover the Key to Making Successful Connections in the New Global Era
• Culture Shock! Books: A series that covers cultural differences in a wide range of international cities, countries, and other geographic areas. Topics include social etiquette, traditions, values, lifestyles, and customs especially as they relate to business.
• Cross-cultural Management: Cover national culture versus corporate culture, cross-cultural communication, and other topics related to cross-cultural management.
• Doing Business in... Books: A series that focuses on doing business globally, covering both countries and general global business strategies.
• Essential Concepts of Cross-Cultural Management: Provides a more concise, simple, and practical approach to cross-cultural skills that cut through the complicated cultural matrix.
• World Business Cultures: A Handbook: Provides a framework for a full understanding of cultural differences in communication, negotiation, partnerships, socializing, incentives and rewards.

Try using the following terms and phrases when searching for books in UNT Libraries' "Catalog Books & More" for your assignment:

• etiquette AND China
• "culture shock" AND Italy
• cultureshock AND India
• culturequest AND Switzerland
• "doing business in" AND Germany
• "corporate culture" AND Germany

Articles

Access the library database, Business Source Complete, for business articles like the ones below (you must login with your EUID and password for remote access):

• Busine, M., Watt, B., Wellins, R. S., & Boatman, J. (2013). Driving Workplace Performance Through High-Quality Conversations. Driving Workplace Performance Through High-Quality Conversations, 1–20. https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=97651265&scope=site
• Cristina, N., Karam, A., & Andreea, H. (2017). Using Business Etiquette Nowadays. Qualitative Research on Business Phoning, Emailing and Meetings. Ovidius University Annals, Series Economic Sciences, 17(2), 444–448. https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=128652786&scope=site