Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of over 670 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and guides in all subject areas. Sample titles are:
- The 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century: A Social Justice Hall of Fame
- 21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook
- The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters
- Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
- Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary
- Credo referenceCredo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current
Online Biographical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Libraries subscribe to other ebook collections containing reference sources. Some sample titles are:
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990Information on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present: rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Includes discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and appendix essays on the music industry, rap, grunge, and more. Provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting EconomistsBiographies of economists who have challenged neoclassical economics and analyzed political and social impacts on economy are provided in this title from eBooks on EbscoHost.
- Complete Dictionary of Scientific BiographyThe professional lives of scientists from antiquity to the present are covered in this source provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of World BiographyA multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. Provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- GROVEartAn in-depth art encyclopedia covering artist biographies up through contemporary times.
- The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300: a Biographical DictionaryThis title provides information about key figures in Western Europe, Byzantium and the Arab world during the Middle Ages. Another title from eBooks on EbscoHost.
Find Print Reference Sources
Follow these steps to find print biography reference sources in the Discover library catalog:
- Perform a keyword search for a group, the type of book you want, plus biography, e.g., scientists and dictionary and biography.
- Choose the "Books and Journals" option from the Material dropdown menu, and then select Submit.
- Click on the title link of a book you want.
- Write down the Location and Call Number and note whether the Status is "Available."
- Ask for assistance at a service desk if you need help finding a book.
The books to the right are a small sample of the reference sources available at the UNT Libraries.
Selected Print Reference Sources
You can check out many print dictionaries and encyclopedias; however, those located in Reference collections must be used in the library.
A Biographical Dictionary of Psychologists, Psychiatrists, and Psychotherapists by Call Number: BF109.A1 S76 2008, Willis Library, 3rd floorISBN: 9780786432929
African American Pioneers of Baseball by Call Number: GV865.A1 F68 2007, Willis Library, 3rd FloorISBN: 9780313338519
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court by Call Number: KF8744 .B56 2006, Eagle Commons Library ReferenceISBN: 193311648X
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion by Call Number: B104 .V47 2008, Willis Library, 3rd FloorISBN: 9780786432868
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers by Call Number: QB35 .B565 2007 v.1-2, Willis Library, 3rd floor, library use onlyISBN: 9780387310220
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film by Call Number: PN1998.2 .T49 2010, Willis Library, 3rd FloorISBN: 9780307271747
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
