Architectural Style Identification Books

Most books are located in the Willis Library on the 3rd floor. Click on the title of the book to see the location and the call number.

Architecture and Ornament: A Visual Guide
Concise Encyclopedia of Interior Design
The Elements of style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the Present
Decoration Defined: A Dictionary of Decoration and Design
Federal Style Patterns 1780-1820
Early Georgian Interiors
Western Architecture: from Ancient Greece to the Present
Twentieth-Century Style and Design
The Art Deco Style in Household Objects, Architecture, Sculpture, Graphics, Jewelry
Greek Architecture
Etruscan and Early Roman Architecture
Principles of Roman Architecture
Medieval Architecture
Formal Design in Renaissance Architecture: from Brunelleschi to Palladio
Icons of Renaissance Architecture
The Triumph of the Baroque: Architecture in Europe, 1600-1750
The Architecture of the Classical Interior
Classical Architecture: an Introduction to Its Vocabulary
Classical Architecture in Renaissance Europe, 1419-1585
English Neo-Classical Architecture (2 vols.)
The Language of Post-Modern Architecture

Interior and Furniture Style Identification Books

Most of the books are located in the Willis Library on the 3rd floor. Click on the title of the book to see the location and call number.

The Complete Guide to Furniture Styles
Dictionary of Furniture
Sotheby's Concise Encyclopedia of Furniture
Furniture & Furnishings: a Visual Guide
The Encyclopedia of Furniture
A Short Dictionary of Furniture
History of Interior Design and Furniture: from Ancient Egypt to Nineteenth-Century Europe
The Encyclopedia of Furniture, an outline history of furniture design in Egypt, Assyria, Persia, Greece, Rome, Italy, France, the Netherlands, Germany, England, Scandinavia, Spain, Russia, and in the Near and Far East up to the Middle of the Nineteenth Century
Ancient Furniture; a History of Greek, Etruscan and Roman Furniture
Furniture of Classical Greece
The Shorter Dictionary of English Furniture; from the Middle Ages to the Late Georgian Period
Furniture and Interior Decoration of the Italian Renaissance
Chinese Classical Furniture
Western Furniture: 1350 to the Present Day in the Victoria and Albert Museum
The Dictionary of English Furniture, from the Middle Ages to the Late Georgian Period (3 vols.)
A History of English Furniture  (4 vols.)
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture [1998-2002]
Contemporary Furniture: an International Review of Modern Furniture, 1950 to the present
Furniture by Architects: Contemporary Chairs, Tables and Lamps
Identifying American Furniture: a Pictorial Guide to Styles and Terms, Colonial to Contemporary
Art Deco Furniture: the French Designers
Sourcebook of Modern Furniture
Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades, and Techniques
The Complete Book of Shaker Furniture
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture [1991-]
American Furniture & the British Tradition to 1830
American Painted Furniture 1660-1880

Architectural and Interior Style Identification Images: Databases

Search ARTstor for the name of your buiding to see images of your building and a catalog entry or summary that may reveal more about the style of your building. Once you know the style of your building, you can also search for the style with the word "architecture" to see other buildings that use that style.

Search examples: "Crystal Palace", Victorian AND Architecture
If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.