Art and Piety in the Female Religious Communities of Renaissance Italy by 
The Iconography of Islamic Art by 
The Iconography of Job Through the Centuries by
*Once you have identified the theme or iconography in Iconclass, search for your objects and or iconography theme in the General Iconography Books. All objects and themes are in alphabetical order.
After searching for your theme in the General Iconography Books, you will know if your iconography theme is Christian or Greek, Roman or another culture. If your theme is Christian, look up your theme in the Christian Iconography Books. If the iconography is Greek, Roman or another culture, look up your theme in the Greek and Roman Iconography Books.
Click on the title of the book to see the location and call number. Some of the books are non-circulating, but can be used, copied and or scanned in the library. Scanners are free.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
Dictionary of Symbols
Iconography of Christian Art (2 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art
Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art
A Handbook of Symbols in Christian Art
Angels, A to Z
Monastic Iconography in France from the Renaissance to the Revolution
Signs & Symbols in Christian Art
Christian Iconography; the History of Christian Art in the Middle Ages (2 vols.)
Fabulous Beasts and Demons
Animals in Art and Thought to the End of the Middle Ages
Folklore and Symbolism of Flowers, Plants, and Trees
Saints and Their Emblems
Lives of the Saints (4 vols.)
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Studies in Iconology: Humanistic Themes in the Art of the Renaissance
Barockthemen: eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17. und 18 (Baroque Themes-17th and 18th centuries - 2 vols. and an atlas.)
Baroque and Rococo Pictorial Imagery
Post-Biblical Saints Art Index
Proverb Iconography: an International Bibliography
Iconclass Index. Early German Prints (4 vols.)
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols
The Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Bulfinch's Mythology: the Age of Fable
Bulfinch's Mythology: The Age of Fable: The Age of Chivalry: Legends of Charlemagne
Bulfinch's Mythology: the Greek and Roman Fables Illustrated
Celtic Mythology
Christian Mythology
Egyptian Mythology: a Guide to the Gods, Goddesses, and Traditions of Ancient Egypt
European Mythology
Indian Mythology
Japanese Mythology
Jewish Legends
Near Eastern Mythology
North American Indian Mythology
Roman Mythology
South American Mythology
New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology
A Dictionary of Chinese Mythology
