Reference Databases
- Credo referenceCredo Reference helps researchers build context by providing background information and key terms enabling more efficient research. Access hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject from Accounting to Art History and Shakespeare to Einstein.
Theory Primers
Sociocultural Theory in Anthropology: A Short History by Call Number: GN308 .G37 1983ISBN: 0881330566Publication Date: 1983-01-01Located on Willis Library 3rd floor
Rise of Anthropological Theory: A History of Theories of Culture by ISBN: 0759101337Publication Date: 2001electronic book
- University of Alabama, Department of Anthropology--Anthropological Theories Guide"A GUIDE PREPARED BY STUDENTS FOR STUDENTS
The guides to anthropological theories and approaches listed below have been prepared by graduate students of the University of Alabama under the direction of Dr. Michael D. Murphy. As always, !Caveat Retis Viator! (Let the Net Traveller [sic] Beware!)"
Statistical Resources
- The Europa World Year Book byCall Number: JN1 .E851-- Eagle Commons LibraryPublication Date: 1960-2015Looking to source accurate economic and political information? Europa World keeps you up-to-speed with global change, providing information on everything from demographic trends in India to food imports in Japan.
Ethnic Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference by Call Number: GN495.4 .P37 1997ISBN: 0313297673Publication Date: 1997-02-28Remote storage- The statesman's year-book: statistical and historical annual of the states of the world byCall Number: JA51 .S7Publication Date: 1864-2012Sycamore Library
- Statistical reference index annual byCall Number: Z7554.U5 S79Publication Date: 1980-2006Sycamore Library
- Index to international statistics: IIS byCall Number: HA154 .I544 1983Publication Date: 1983-2006Sycamore Library
Reference Materials
- Annual Review of AnthropologyCollections of critical literature reviews in anthropology with organized guides to current debates in topical areas from the four disciplines. In publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9781412999632Publication Date: 2013-09-27
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures by ISBN: 9780306477546Publication Date: 2003-12-31electronic book
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology by Call Number: GN50.3 .S74 1991ISBN: 0313247560Publication Date: 1991-08-30Remote storageDictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology by
Call Number: GN307 .W56 1991ISBN: 0313242801Publication Date: 1991-11-30Willis Library 3rd floor
The Dictionary of Cultural Theorists by Call Number: CB430 .D52 1999ISBN: 0340645490Publication Date: 1999-03-18Remote storageThe Encyclopedia of World Cultures Volumes 1-10 by
Call Number: GN307 .E53 1991ISBN: 0816118094Publication Date: 1991-09-25Willis Library 3rd floor
Encyclopedia of Anthropology, Volumes 1-5 by Call Number: GN11 .E63 2006ISBN: 0761930299Publication Date: 2005-12-08Willis Library 3rd floor
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, Volumes 1-4 by Call Number: GN333 .W67 1998ISBN: 0787605522Publication Date: 1997-12-01Willis Library 3rd floor
World Directory of Minorities by Call Number: GN495.4 .W67 1997ISBN: 1873194366Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, Volumes 1-5 by Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996ISBN: 0684192535Publication Date: 1995-12-01Remote storage
History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia by Call Number: GN50.3 .H57 1997ISBN: 0815304900Publication Date: 1996-12-01Willis Library 3rd floor
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of the World by Call Number: GN495.4 .E53 1993ISBN: 0805022562Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities by Call Number: GN495.4 .E63 2005ISBN: 157958392XPublication Date: 2004-11-29Remote storage
Reference Materials
Reference materials include dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, handbooks, bibliographies, and other resources that can help beginners define basic terms or concepts or help more advanced anthropologists refresh their understanding of a school or thought or theory.