Guides: PSCI 3700 Latin American Politics: Additional Resources

Keesing's Record of World Events

Keesing's Record of World Events Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic, and economic affairs from all regions of the world. An archive of original, accurate, and objective articles on the world's political, social, and economic events. Includes articles in Economics, History, Journalism, Multidisciplinary, and Political Science. Dates of Coverage: 1931 - 1987: Keesing's Contemporary Archives; 1987 - present.

Keesing's is good source for news throughout the world. Enter your search term(s) in the text box (highlighted in yellow below) and click the search button to the right.

You can narrow your search with some of the Advanced Options (circled in red below.)

One specific way to narrow your search is to select a Relevant Area/Nation (Mexico, highlighted in blue below) then scroll to the bottom of the page to click the Submit Advanced Search button.

If you have any questions, please contact your Political Science Librarian.

Political Database of the Americas

Political Database of the Americas contains information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies, and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the Americas. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - current; varies by country.

To access the Political Database of the Americas select the About PDBA link (highlighted in yellow below.)

From there you can search information about branches of government or view constitutions or political parties of various American countries. Specifically of interest is the Electoral Systems Data (highlighted in yellow below.) Select the country (highlighted in yellow below) to view election results from local to federal.

If you have any questions, please contact your Political Science Librarian.

Data/Statstics

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a longitudinal national data series and provides ranges of annual data from 1815 for all countries with many associated variables. General categories include demographic data, social, political and economic topics.
See the complete list of variables here: https://www.cntsdata.com/coverage/.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.
IPoll databank
iPoll Databank Contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Dates of Coverage: last 70+ years
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Topic areas include population demographics, vital statistics, education, law enforcement, elections, federal/state/local government finances and employment, national security and veterans affairs, social insurance and human services, labor force, poverty and wealth, business enterprise, science and technology, agriculture and natural resources, energy and utilities, construction and housing, manufactures, wholesale and retail trade, transportation, information and communications, banking and finance, arts and recreation, accommodation and food services, foreign commerce and aid, Puerto Rico and the island areas, and international statistics. Dates of Coverage: 1878 (with some data back to 1789)–2012.
Race Relations in America
Race Relations in American provides records of speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses produced by Fisk University's Race Relations Department from 1943-1970. This information documents the civil rights fight with concentrations on desegregation, migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers, the role of the Church in the Civil Rights Movement, race riots and tensions, and the activists of the Civil Rights movement.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use Web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. To learn more about Social Explorer, visit https://www.socialexplorer.com/product
World Factbook
World Factbook is a publication of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency that provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Dates of Coverage: Varies by country.

PSCI 3700 Latin American Politics

Keesing's Record of World Events

Political Database of the Americas

Data/Statstics

Additional Links