Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Promotions & Trials of Electronic Resources: Promotional Material

Learn more about and gain access to current trials of electronic resources. Find promotional content designed to increase usage of library resources. Email Allyson Rodriguez to suggest further resources to include in this guide.

LGBT Thought & Culture

photographs of gay pride poster and rallies, LGBT families and protesters, and the AIDS Memorial Quilt in Washington DC​LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. It provides a unique look into LGBT life from the late 19th to the early 21st centuries, creating research opportunities and providing course material for educators of cultural studies, history, women's and gender studies, political science, sociology, and more.

Included in this resource are the Pat Rocco Collection, the Magnus Hirschfeld Collection, a wide variety of LGBT magazines, newspapers and books, and much more. 

Alexander Street Press Logo with a photo of men in a desert and a photo of a woman in a classroom

60 Minutes Online


60 Minutes logo white text dark backgroundThe 
60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.

This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world.

image of robert m. gates being interviewed by katie couric True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. The broad range of content offers boundless applications for students and researchers. Some of the greatest disciplinary strengths of 60 MINUTES include history, business & economics, international affairs, law, performing arts, African American studies and much more...
alexander street press logo with photo of men in desert and a woman in a classroom

 

Engineering Case Studies

Engineering Case Studies Online from Alexander Street Press is a comprehensive and authoritative resource to provide in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures.


A wide variety of content types includes video documentaries of major failures, simulations, primary footage of accidents, as well as discussions of key engineering ethics, concepts and cases. The collection provides in-depth coverage for more than 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world.

Sign in to create video clips or save playlists. Learn more here. Access Engineering Case Studies Online at 
http://search.alexanderstreet.com/engv.

 

PBS Streaming Video

PBS Streaming Video includes hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface.The database represents the largest collection of streamed PBS content available anywhere. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events.

This collection provides access to well-known series including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and more as well as films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood. 

Each video has a full transcript and can be linked to, shared via various social media or email or embedded in class pages and libguides.
Sign in to create video clips or save playlists. Learn more here. Access The PBS Video Collection at http://search.alexanderstreet.com/pbsv.
Alexander Street Press logo between a photo of two men in a desert and a photo of a woman teaching in a classroom

*NEW!* Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives contains rich, comprehensive material found in leading periodicals and books that relate to a wide range of topics in American history - from slavery to women's rights, state and county records to style and fashion in the nineteenth century.

Accessible Archives has content that is useful to many disciplines from publications including:
· Godey's Lady's Books
· African American Newspapers
· American County Histories
· Twelve Years a Slave 


Use these convenient direct links to access content for specific class needs. 

To get started searching Accessible Archives visit the
User Manual or browse through the Collections and Coverage to get a feel for what is available.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800.

As the eighteenth century opened, the expiration of the strict controls that previously existed over printing, coupled with the birth of the Industrial Revolution, resulted in the proliferation of printing operations across the country—and in turn, created an explosion of literacy. For the first time, a large segment of the population was exposed to a vast array of printed material. Social and economic criticism flourished; theories on man and society were set forth and debated. ECCO contains content supporting research in literature, history, music, criminology, medicine, law, linguistics, and more.

In the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken, more than 180,000 titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 have been digitized. Search the complete text of more than 33 million pages of material; in essence, every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

 

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century  

The Federal Government Records
The Federal Goverment Records module covers the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government. 

 

March on Washington in 1963 led by Martin Luther King, Jr.

Organizational Records and Personal Papers
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. The three major civil rights organizations are the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this module are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnett’s Associated Negro Press, this module also branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment. 

iPoll

iPoll comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPOLL online database is organized at the question-level. The system allows for users to sift through over 600,000 questions archived from national public opinion surveys since 1935. The database is updated daily.

Roper Center Support Materials

The Roper Center archive consists of over 20,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. Approximately 60% of these were conducted in the United States. 

Dataset Collections offers an overview of holdings and highlights some of the unique dataset collections to be found in the archive. 

Topics at a Glance offers users prepared iPOLL and dataset searches, issue briefs, featured dataset descriptions, and charts and graphics on some of the most popular subject areas.

  • Keep tabs on the prospects of 2016 nominees with one click, or review historical voting data from our U.S. Elections page.
  • Studying Presidential Approval Ratings is easier than before with new responsive charts.
  • http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/topics-glance/

 

Data-Planet

Want to incorporate more data into your research or teaching? Data-Planet is a good place to start and here are some resources to get your started:

Find data specific to the state of Texas

Learn more about using the Statistical Datasets interface from Data-Planet on this comprehensive LibGuide

Check out a brief introductory video created by a Data-Planet user.

Opposing Viewpoints

Discover pro/con perspectives from authoritative voices. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. Opposing Viewpoints in Context is cross-curricular and supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.

LEARN MORE

To get started using Opposing Viewpoints effectively 
GO HERE
to check out a brief tutorial.

Ravel Law Database

Ravel Law indexes case law at the local, state and federal levels and provides a unique visualization tool to identify and contextualize U.S. case law.

Search using either Boolean or natural language and then use the unique interactive map to adjust the focus and scope of your results.

Ravel Law also provides context and information to make it easy to analyze and interpret your findings. Finally, you can annotate the text and export your notes from within the database.


*NOTE: To access Ravel, you must create a personal account using a valid unt.edu email address.

1. Go to https://www.ravellaw.com 
2. Click "Sign In" in the upper right corner
3. Click the "Sign Up" button.
4. Complete form using your UNT email address. If you don't have a graduation date just type any future date.
5. Click the "Create Account" button to create your account and begin searching!

Check out the Quick Start Guide for a brief, printable introduction or visit Ravel Learn to find ideas, video tutorials, and more.

NEW: LOEB CLASSICAL LIBRARY

Loeb Classical Library

Latin & Greek
English Translations

Over a century ago, James Loeb announced the founding of the Loeb Classical Library and his intention to bring the written treasures of the ancient Greek and Roman world “within the reach of all who care for the finer things in life.”

This collection is now completely digitized and includes Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations. Every work is classified by language, form, genre, subject, and date. Are you looking for a person or place, a quotation about love or wealth, or how a particular word has been translated in a work, by an author, or across the entire Library? You will find it quite easily; every word of the Greek, Latin, and English is fully searchable.

Additional Links

top