Guides: ENGL 5020/4410 Chaucer: Chaucer

Online resources

Sample searches:

British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance
Example:

o Search: Julian of Norwich, Margery Kempe, Marie de France

o Use “Full Screen” or magnifying glass tools

o Crop or print texts

o Copy document URL and citation
Digital Scriptorium

An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from a consortium of libraries
Digitised Manuscripts

Example: Try “Margery Kempe”, “Marie de France”, “Julian of Norwich”
Medieval Manuscripts in the Digital Age

Our manuscript collection includes most of the kinds of books used between 1000 and 1500 A.D.: prayer books and poetry, Bibles and political propaganda, philosophical works, and fantastic histories.
Other Resources for Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts

For the study of manuscripts across many different repositories, this is an essential resource.

Survey

Please complete this short survey.

Library Instruction survey

Thank you! I read all of the surveys and make changes based on your input.

Chaucer Resources

Harvard's Geoffrey Chaucer Website
This site provides materials for Harvard University's Chaucer classes in the Core Program, the English Department, and the Division of Continuing Education. (Others of course are welcome to use it.) It provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works, as well as selections from relevant works by earlier and later writers, critical articles from a variety of perspectives, graphics, and general information on life in the Middle Ages. At the moment the site concentrates on the Canterbury Tales, but the longer-term goal is to create a more general Chaucer page.

The Riverside Chaucer by Larry D. Benson; Geoffrey Chaucer; Robert Pratt; F. N. Robinson
Call Number: PR1851 .B4 1987 c.2
ISBN: 0395290317
Publication Date: 1986-12-12
Contents The Canterbury Tales The Book of the Duchess The House of Fame Anelida and Arcite The Parliament of Fowls Boece Troilus and Criseyde The Legend of Good Women The Short Poems: An ABC. The Complaint unto Pity. A Complaint to His Lady. The Complaint of Mars. The Complaint of Venus. To Rosemounde. Womanly Noblesse. Chaucers Wordes unto Adam, His Owne Scriveyn. The Former Age. Fortune. Truth. Gentilesse. Lak of Stedfastnesse. Lenvoy de Chaucer a Scogan. Lenvoy de Chaucer a Bukton. The Complaint of Chaucer to His Purse. Proverbs. Poems Not Ascribed to Chaucer in the Manuscripts: Against Women Unconstant. Complaynt D'Amours. Merciles Beaute. A Balade of Complaint A Treatise on the Astrolabe The Romaunt of the Rose Appendix. General Bibliography. Abbreviations. Explanatory Notes. Textual Notes. Glossary. Index of Proper Names.
The Canterbury Tales by Larry D. Benson; Geoffrey Chaucer
Call Number: PR1866 .B46 2000
ISBN: 0395978238
Publication Date: 2000-04-13
Based on the definitive Riverside Chaucer, this edition of The Canterbury Tales contains the complete text of all 24 Tales, thoroughly updated scholarship from the past 20 years, and extensive editorial support. This volume is ideal for instructors who want to assign only the Tales and have no need for the complete Chaucer. An overview briefly outlines the basic plot and main idea of each Tale, while a section on language and versification helps students with pronunciation. Explanatory notes provide information on sources, problematic passages, and critical interpretations. Additional pedagogy includes a glossary, a section on Chaucer's life, an index, a general bibliography, and a list of abbreviations.

[BBCPodcasts]. (2018, August 12). Chaucer (In Our Time) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/pO1uqSnAHSY

[Eric Luttrell]. (2017, April 22). Chaucer (Part 1 of 3) Chaucer's England [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/dCEim-hH0kA

This is the first of three lectures about Geoffrey Chaucer's Canterbury Tales. It gives a brief history of events in England from the time of the Beowulf manuscript through Chaucer's lifetime that are relevant to the language and content of the Canterbury Tales.

Literature Research Databases

Acta sanctorum the full text database.
Acta Sanctorum Database A collection of documents in Latin examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day. Dates of Coverage: 1643-1940.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) is a citation index, with abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals. Subject coverage includes not only arts and humanities but also language and linguistics, poetry, music, classical works, history, oriental studies, philosophy, archaeology, architecture, history, religion, television, theater, and radio. It covers a wide range of resource formats as well, including articles, letters, editorials, meeting abstracts, errata, poems, short stories, among many others.
Hathi Trust
Hathi Trust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to preserve and make accessible the cultural record. Hathi has digitized and made accessible millions of books and serials in the public domain. To access additional materials and resources: 1) Click 'login', 2) Select 'University of North Texas', 3) Select 'Continue' 4) Enter your EUID and password, 5) Select 'login'
Iter gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter Databases Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, was created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development of online resources. Includes the secondary source material including: Iter Bibliography, Iter Italicum, Milton: A Bibliography, Renaissance and Reformation, Early Theater, the Medici Archive Project, the Bibliography of English Women Writers, and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Iter Italicum
Iter Italicum Comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Search or browse by keyword, country, city, library, and library collection. .Dates of Coverage: Originally published in six volumes, between 1963 and 1992,.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Lexikon des Mittelalters online
The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa.
Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Middle English Compendium
Middle English Compendium A compilation of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources. Dates of Coverage: Last updated in 2006
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current
Orlando: Women's Writing
Orlando: Women's Writing includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. It includes dated items representing events and processes in the accounts of these writers. Chronologies created from portions of author documents and free-standing contextual materials are also included.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, serving as a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.
Parker Library on the web
Parker Library on the Web An interactive, web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. Includes a substantial proportion of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon, including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), unique copies of Old English poems and other texts, and King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care, and much more. Dates of Coverage: VI - XVIII Centuries

ENGL 5020/4410 Chaucer

Online resources

Survey

Chaucer Resources

Literature Research Databases

Additional Links