Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL5020/4410 Chaucer

What is Special Collections and How Do I Request Items

The Special Collections department collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, university archives, historical manuscripts, maps, microfilm, photographs, art and artifacts. Students, faculty and the public are welcome to access collections and view special exhibits in our Fourth floor Reading Room.

VIEWING MATERIALS

Users may request access to archival material in the Judge Sarah T. Hughes Reading Room, or the Edna Mae Sandborn Reading Room (Music Special Collections), both located on the 4th floor of Willis Library on the UNT campus in Denton. (directions)

To access archival materials, please request delivery directly through the finding aid. Instructions are presented in line with Box/Container contents in the finding aid.

  • Use the truck icon to request delivery of materials.
  • Use the duplicate icon to request duplication of materials.

New users will need to create an Aeon user account in order to request materials. Once materials are requested you may view the status of your request by logging into your Aeon account.

Requests for duplication (scanning) of archival materials may also be made directly in the finding aid, through Aeon. Requests for duplication may incur fees for scanning. A member of the Special Collections staff will confirm fees for scanning services prior to processing any duplication request.

Special Collections Items

Call/Collection Number Title
Z232.M87 R65  A leaf from the Kelmscott Chaucer
DS70.5.U55 C864 2000BC Cuneiform tablet
DS70.5.U55 C86 2033BC Cuneiform tablet; receipt for Gu-nammu's animals
093 fJ622 Gutenberg and the Book of Books, with bibliographical notes, reproductions of specimen pages and a listing of known copies
BX2080.A35 I83 1991 Libro de horas de Isabel la Catolica: cuyo original se encuentra en la Biblioteca del Palacio Real de Madrid
Z105 .S643 n.9 Manuscript leaf from a Bible of ca.1250
Z105 .S643 n.7 Manuscript leaf from a Breviary of ca.1400-1450
Z105 .S643 n.2 Manuscript leaf from a Roman missal of ca.1450
091 M319 n.1 Manuscript leaf from an antiphonal, 13th century
PR1866.W66 1997 The Canterbury Tales: the new Ellesmere Chaucer monochromatic facsimile (of Huntington Library MS EL 26 C 9)
Z1030 .M97 1984 The Mystique of vellum / containing an introduction by Decherd Turner and a historical essay on vellum printed books by Colin Franklin along with a manual to printing letterpress on vellum and parchment by Richard Bigus that's edited by Lester Ferriss
PR1120.V47 1987 The Vernon manuscript: a facsimile of Bodleian Library, Oxford, MS, Eng, poet, A.1
PR1850 1896a Works, A facsimile of the William Morris Kelmscott Chaucer
PA8275 .B4 1982 Vollständige Faksimile-Ausgabe im Originalformat der Handschrift Ms. Ashmole 1511--Bestiarium: aus dem Besitz der Bodleian Library, Oxford
Medieval and Rennaisance Fragment Collection
Supplemental Materials: Parchment examples, gold leaf examples, etc.

Additional Links

top