Skip to main content

ENGL 4850: Literature in Context: Welcome and Class Information

Class Information

Dr. Hawkins Ÿ Office: Auditorium 208 Ÿ Emailshawkins@unt.edu Ÿ Office Hours: by appointment

Welcome to your English Class Guide

I am your English subject librarian and I am here to help you with your research and citation.  Please take a look at this class guide it is filled with valuable, helpful information.  The UNT Library website is library.unt.edu and this website contains lots of important information along with your search boxes to find books, journal articles, online books and online articles and more.  

Please take these surveys before and after class instruction or class page review

SurveyBeforeInstruction 

SurveyAfterInstruction

Check your Knowledge

English Website

Plagiarism Information

RefWorks Information

RefWorks

Online bibliographic management program that allows users to import citation information, create a personal database of references information, and create a bibliography and annotated bibliography page in Word.  

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Carol Hargis's picture
Carol Hargis
Contact:
University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-3563
Skype Contact: carol.hargis6

UNT Primary Resources

Primary Sources

Prior to 1801 ESTC  English Short Title Catalog

1473-1700 EBBO  Early English Books Online

1701-1800 ECCO  Eighteenth Century Collections Online

1639-1800 Evans  Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw Shoemaker

1801-1819 Shaw  Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition

Databases

Poetry

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc. 

Encyclopedias

Guides:

  • Archives and Manuscripts
  • Audiovisual
  • Databases
  • General
  • Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

  1. Patents
  2. Statistics
  3. Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

  1. Archives
  2. Audiovisual
  3. Copyright
  4. General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

  1. Archives
  2. Art and Architecture
  3. Classical Languages
  4. Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
  5. General
  6. Law and Politics
  7. Museology
  8. Music
  9. Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Additional Links

top