Guides: ENGL 4850: Literature in Context: Welcome and Class Information

Class Information

Dr. Hawkins Office: Auditorium 208 Email: shawkins@unt.edu Office Hours: by appointment

Over the Top: Literature and Culture of the First World War
Syllabus

Welcome to your English Class Guide

I am your English subject librarian and I am here to help you with your research and citation. Please take a look at this class guide it is filled with valuable, helpful information. The UNT Library website is library.unt.edu and this website contains lots of important information along with your search boxes to find books, journal articles, online books and online articles and more.

Please take these surveys before and after class instruction or class page review

SurveyBeforeInstruction

SurveyAfterInstruction

Check your Knowledge

English Website

Department of English Website
Find faculty publications, undergraduate advising, graduate program information, and more on the English Department's website.

Plagiarism Information

18.1.16 Student Standards of Academic Integrity
The following academic penalties may be assessed at the instructor’s discretion upon determination that academic dishonesty has occurred. Admonitions and educational assignments are not appealable.
Rewriter Tools
Paraphrasing tool to check how well you paraphrased.

RefWorks Information

RefWorks

Online bibliographic management program that allows users to import citation information, create a personal database of references information, and create a bibliography and annotated bibliography page in Word.

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Carol Hargis

Email Me

Contact:

University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017

940-565-3563

Subjects: Communication Studies, English, Medieval Studies

UNT Primary Resources

Digital Collections
The UNT Digital Library is a centralized repository for the rich collections held by the libraries, colleges, schools, and departments at the University of North Texas
The Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
UNT Libraries: Finding Aids
Use this tool to browse descriptions of our unique holdings. You can request these items to be viewed in the Special Collections Reading room on Willis Library's 4th Floor.
Library of Congress
Primary Source Sets

Primary Sources

Prior to 1801 ESTC English Short Title Catalog

1473-1700 EBBO Early English Books Online

1701-1800 ECCO Eighteenth Century Collections Online

1639-1800 Evans Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw Shoemaker

1801-1819 Shaw Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition

English short title catalogue 1473-1800.
English Short Title Catalogue Resource Type: Bibliographic Database Title/Alternate Title: English Short Title Catalogue (Catalog) Subjects Covered: Comprehensive bibliography that includes items printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800), and Canada in any language. Also, items printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world Contents: The holdings of over 1,500 libraries around the world are represented Dates of Coverage: Includes all the material processed up to December 1997. Chronologically, the scope of the ESTC extends from the earliest printing in England (ca. 1473) through to the end of December, 1800
Early English Books Online.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Starting with the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this is an electronic collection of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, pamphlets and more.
Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography,

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Early American imprints. Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Early American imprints. Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography,

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
British periodicals
British Periodicals Collection contains more than 450 periodicals from the 1680s to the 1930s. These periodicals cover topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, news and politics. All materials are available in page image format with fully serachable text. Access is provided to Collections I, II, and III.

The Modernist Journals Project
The Modernist Journals Project is a major resource for the study of modernism in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. Our primary mission is to produce digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century and make them freely available to the public on our website.

Oxford reference online
Oxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current
Oxford dictionary of national biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography a record, including images, of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Dates of Coverage: 2004- current
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication

Databases

Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of Coverage: 1973 - Current
Project Muse
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Contains alphabetically arranged entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Compiled by specialists from around the world. Designed for use by scholars as well as users interested in theoretical issues but who do not have specialized knowledge. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage. Dates of Coverage: Covers theoretical issues dating from Classical Greece to present.

Poetry

Library of Congress
Found Poetry from the Primary Source Sets
20th Century American Poetry
20th Century English Poetry

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

Archives and Manuscripts
Audiovisual
Databases
General
Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

Patents
Statistics
Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

Archives
Audiovisual
Copyright
General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

Archives
Art and Architecture
Classical Languages
Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
General
Law and Politics
Museology
Music
Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

ENGL 4850: Literature in Context