Skip to main content

ENGL 4844: William Faulkner & Zora Neale Hurston: Welcome and Class Information

Class Information

Welcome to your English Class Guide

Please take a look at this class guide it is filled with valuable, helpful information.  The UNT Library website is library.unt.edu and this website contains lots of important information along with your search boxes to find books, journal articles, online books and online articles and more.  

Please take these surveys before and after class instruction or class page review

SurveyBeforeInstruction 

SurveyAfterInstruction

Check your Knowledge

English Website

Plagiarism Information

RefWorks Information

RefWorks

Online bibliographic management program that allows users to import citation information, create a personal database of references information, and create a bibliography and annotated bibliography page in Word.  

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Carol Hargis's picture
Carol Hargis
Contact:
University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-3563
Skype Contact: carol.hargis6

UNT Primary Resources

Special Collections Reading Room

Special Collections is a fantastic resource.  These items are an example of what can be found and requested from the Special Collections Reading Room, Willis Library 4th Floor.  

We have a copy of the constitution for the Klan from c1922, it is very fragile and has been sent to be digitized.  

Constitution and Laws of the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan Incorporated. Atlanta, Ga: Knights of the Ku Klux Klan, 1922. Print.

https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3794570

Materials related to the Klan on the portal, mostly newspapers:

https://texashistory.unt.edu/search/?q=%22ku+klux+klan%22&fq=untl_decade%3A1930-1939&t=fulltext

Oral histories that touch on the KKK

https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3791785

https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3777396

https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3244247

Additional Klan related materials on the Portal that have no dates.

https://texashistory.unt.edu/search/?q5=%22Social%20Life%20and%20Customs%20-%20Clubs%20and%20Organizations%20-%20Ku%20Klux%20Klan%22&t5=dc_subject&searchType=advanced

There is a significant collection of Faulker material at the University of Virginia, and the digitized audio tapes of his visit there in ’57 and ’58. http://faulkner.lib.virginia.edu/ - he talks a bit about race relations and the civil rights movement at the time the interviews took place.

The University of Central Florida hosts the Zora Neal Hurston Digital Archive http://chdr.cah.ucf.edu/hurstonarchive/

The Library of Congress has a great collection of FSA images available on the web here: http://www.loc.gov/pictures/collection/fsa/sampler.html

DPLA has a primary source set on The New Deal here: https://dp.la/primary-source-sets/sets/the-new-deal

Databases

Book Review

Please choose the Literary Reference Center.

Literary Reference Center logoLiterary Reference Center
 

Poetry

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

  • Archives and Manuscripts
  • Audiovisual
  • Databases
  • General
  • Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

  1. Patents
  2. Statistics
  3. Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

  1. Archives
  2. Audiovisual
  3. Copyright
  4. General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

  1. Archives
  2. Art and Architecture
  3. Classical Languages
  4. Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
  5. General
  6. Law and Politics
  7. Museology
  8. Music
  9. Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Additional Links

top