This publication contains forty-four specially written chapters providing a thorough and creative reading of Dante’s oeuvre. It gathers an intergenerational and international team of scholars encompassing diverse approaches from the fields of Anglo-American, Italian, and continental scholarship and spanning several disciplines: philology, material culture, history, religion, art history, visual studies, theory from the classical to the contemporary, queer, post- and de-colonial, and feminist studies. The Handbook combines a rigorous reassessment of Dante’s formation, themes, and sources, with a theoretically up-to-date focus on textuality, thereby offering a new critical Dante. The volume is divided into seven sections: ‘Texts and Textuality’; ‘Dialogues’; ‘Transforming Knowledge’; ‘Space(s) and Places’; ‘A Passionate Selfhood’; ‘A Non-Linear Dante’; and ‘Nachleben’. It seeks to challenge the Commedia-centric approach (the conviction that notwithstanding its many contradictions, Dante’s works move towards the great reservoir of poetry and ideas that is the Commedia), in order to bring to light a non-teleological way in which these works relate amongst themselves. Plurality and the openness of interpretation appear as Dante’s very mark, coexisting with the attempt to create an all-encompassing mastership. The Handbook suggests what is exciting about Dante now and indicates where Dante scholarship is going, or can go, in a global context.
E-Book Multi User

The Dante Encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource that presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works and the cultural context in which his moral and intellectual imagination took shape.
Book Willis 3rd Floor - Library Use Only

Available for the first time in paperback, this essential resource presents a systematic introduction to Dante's life and works, his cultural context and intellectual legacy. The only such work available in English, this Encyclopedia: brings together contemporary theories on Dante, summarizing them in clear and vivid prose provides in-depth discussions of the Divine Comedy, looking at title and form, moral structure, allegory and realism, manuscript tradition, and also taking account of the various editions of the work over the centuries contains numerous entries on Dante's other important writings and on the major subjects covered within them addresses connections between Dante and philosophy, theology, poetics, art, psychology, science, and music as well as critical perspective across the ages, from Dante's first critics to the present.
E-Book Unlimited Users

What were the twelve labours of Herakles? Why did Zeus turn himself into a shower of gold? What was the name of the guard-dog of the Underworld? Which two-faced Roman god gave his name to the month January? What is the answer to the riddle of the Sphinx? The myths of ancient Greece and Rome are the most dramatic and unforgettable tales of love, war, heroism and betrayal ever told. Whether it's Ikaros flying too close to the sun, Prometheus stealing fire from the gods or the tragedy of Oedipus, their characters have inspired art, literature, plays and films, and constellations named after them fill the night sky. But how much do you really know about them? From the clash of the Titans to the fall of Troy, here are the greatest legends of all time, brilliantly retold by classical scholar Jenny March. All the heroes, monsters, villains, gods and goddesses of classical civilization are included; the epic journeys of Odysseus and Aeneas; the founding of Athens and Rome; the quests of Jason seeking the Golden Fleece and Theseus slaying the minotaur. Giving the origins, development and interpretation of each myth, this is the essential guide to the stories that have shaped our world.
Book Willis 3rd Floor

Jenny March's acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A - Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters. Characters such as Achilles and Odysseus have extensive entries, as do epic journeys and heroic quests, like that of Jason and the Argonauts to win the Golden Fleece, all alongside a plethora of information on the creation of the cosmos, the many metamorphoses of gods and humans, and the Trojan War, plus more minor figures - nymphs, seers, kings, rivers, to name but a few.In this superbly authoritative work the myths are brilliantly retold, along with any major variants, and with extensive translations from ancient authors that give life to the narratives and a sense of the vibrant cultures that shaped the development of classical myth. The 172 illustrations give visual immediacy to the words, by showing how ancient artists perceived their gods and heroes. The impact of myths on ancient art is also explored, as is and their influence in the post-classical arts, emphasising the ongoing inspiration afforded by the ancient myths.Also included are two maps of the ancient world, a list of the ancient sources and their chronology, the more important genealogies, and an index of recurrent mythical motifs.Praise for the first edition:"...the Dictionary of Classical Mythology is exemplary, indeed the best I have consulted ... clearly and engagingly written ...it not only gives reliable answers but also encourages reading on." Simon Goldhill, Times Literary Supplement"a prodigious, authoritative gazetteer, each entry both typographically and stylistically readable, and if you know more than is contained in these pages then you have no need of it."Nicholas Lezard, Guardian Book of the Week"Greek myths pervade our own art and literature almost as much as they influenced that of classical times, and this will be an invaluable guide."The Good Book Guide"...a modern encyclopaedia of myth and legend which is user-friendly in layout, presentation and style ... vivid and readable." Paula James, The Classical Review"These stories are frequently the spark that ignites a wider interest in the classical world, and March provides a wealth of inflammatory material."Charles Paterson, JACT Review"This dictionary will still be valuable all through the next century."Sir Hugh Lloyd-Jones"...vivid, detailed where it matters, yet concise, accurate, no padding, always to the point - it's a joy to read." Herwig Maehler
E-Book Unlimited User Access

This book is designed to provide an introduction to Dante that is at once accessible and challenging. Fifteen specially commissioned essays by distinguished North American and European scholars provide background information and up-to-date critical perspectives on Dante's life and work, focusing on areas of central importance. They explore the literary antecedents, both vernacular and classical, of Dante's poetry, the intellectual background to his writings (biblical, philosophical, and theological sources), and their historical context, both political and social. There are introductory essays to each of the three cantiche of the Divina Commedia, as well as chapters on Dante's other works. Selected reception history is provided, discussing the commentary tradition and Dante's presence in literature in English. The book also includes a chronological table giving an outline of Dante's life and times, and suggestions for further reading keyed to the theme of specific chapters.
Book

In the sixteenth century, when Dante's critical fortunes were at their lowest ebb, his use of metaphor was still considered remarkable enough to describe him as a 'poeta metaforcissimo'. David Gibbon's book, which takes its title from this epithet, seeks to account for the specifically Dantean nature of that genius which Aristotle said was the mark of those who used the metaphor well. Probing first the relationship between theory and practice, Gibbons offers a working definition of metaphor based on those available to the poet himself , and looks at Dante's earliest metaphorical efforts in his lyric poetry. The heart of thos book is an analysis of the metaphor in the Paradiso, by common consent the most metaphorical poetry Dante ever wrote.
Book

This new critical volume, the second to appear in the three-volume Lectura Dantis, contains expert, focused commentary on the Purgatorio by thirty-three international scholars, each of whom presents to the nonspecialist reader one of the cantos of the transitional middle cantica of Dante's unique Christian epic. The cast of characters is as colorful as before, although this time most of them are headed for salvation. The canto-by-canto commentary allows each contributor his or her individual voice and results in a deeper, richer awareness of Dante's timeless aspirations and achievements.
E-Book Unlimited Users

Paradiso is the final part of Italian poet Dante Alighieri's epic poem Divine Comedy and describes Dante's journey through heaven. Dante travels through the nine celestial spheres and experiences the blessings given to those who are faithful to God.

Dante brings the legendary author--and the medieval Italy of his era-- to vivid life, describing the political intrigue, battles, culture, and society that shaped his writing.  Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy has defined how people imagine and depict heaven and hell for over seven centuries. However, outside of Italy, his other works are not well known, and less still is generally known about the context he wrote them in. In Dante, Barbero brings the legendary author's Italy to life, describing the political intrigue, battles, city and society that shaped his life and work. The son of a shylock who dreams of belonging to the world of writers and nobles, we follow Dante into the dark corridors of politics where ideals are shattered by rampant corruption, and then into exile as he travels Italy and discovers the extraordinary color and variety of the countryside, the metropolises, and the knightly courts. This is a book by a serious scholar with real popular appeal, as evidenced by its bestseller ranking in Italy.& nbsp; It is a remarkable piece of forensic investigation into medieval Italian life.
E-Book single user access

This title examines the main themes and issues that run through all of Dante's work, including autobiography, his ideas about writing and his actual practice, his views on humanity and politics, and his understanding of God and the order of the universe. In doing so, it highlights what has made Dante a vital point of reference for modern writers, and at the same time gives due attention to clarifying the mediaeval aspects of his thought for the modern reader and the cultural and political world in which he wrote.
E-Book Multi User Access

A comprehensive guide to Dante's life and literature, with an emphasis on his Commedia. This text looks at the influences that shaped Dante's writing, and the reception of his work by later readers, from the 14th century to the present. Introduces Dante through four main approaches: the context of his life and career; his literary and cultural traditions; key themes, episodes and passages in his own work, especially the Commedia; and the reception and appropriation of his work by later readers, from the fourteenth century to the present Written by an expert Dante scholar Provides new translations of substantial passages from Dante's poems and from the world of his contemporaries Includes explanatory diagrams of Dante's 'other-worlds', and a section of illustrations by medieval and modern artists Builds a vivid and complex picture of Dante's imagination, intellect and literary presence Helpful bibliographies include relevant web resources
E-Book unlimited user access

For over seven centuries, Dante and his masterpiece, The Divine Comedy, have held a special place in Western culture. The poem is at once a vivid journey through hell to heaven, a poignant love story, and a picture of humanity's relationship to God. It is so richly imaginative that a first reading can be bewildering. In response, Peter Hawkins has written an inspiring introduction to the poet, his greatest work, and its abiding influence. His knowledge of Dante and enthusiasm for his vision make him an expert guide for the willing reader.
Book Willis 3rd Floor

Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Biographies General Notes: Originally published, 2006.Includes bibliographical references and index. A gift from Studies in the Novel.
Book Willis 3rd Floor

A Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer brings to life one of the most important fathers of poetry, Dante Alighieri (1265-1321), author of "The Divine Comedy".
Review: "Dante traces the life and complex development - emotional, artistic, philosophical - of this supreme poet-historian, from his wanderings through Tuscan hills and splendid churches to his days as a young soldier fighting for democracy, and to his civic leadership and years of embittered exile from the city that would fiercely reclaim him a century later." "Lewis reveals the boy who first encounters the mythic Beatrice, the lyric poet obsessed with love and death, and the grand master of dramatic narrative and allegory, as well as his monumental search for ultimate truth in The Divine Comedy. It is in this masterpiece of self-discovery and redemption that Lewis finds Dante's autobiography - and the sum of all his shifting passions and epiphanies."-

Table of Contents:
Dante the Florentine
Neighborhood presences: the early years
Love, poetry, and war: the 1280s
The death of Beatrice and a new life: 1288-1295
The way of politics: 1295-1302
The poet in exile: 1302-1310: the Comedy is begun
The middle of the journey: 1310-1319
Ravenna, 1318-1321: the Comedy is finished.
Book Remote Storage

This collection of facsimile reprints integrates a wide range of Dante scholarship in eight thematic volumes. It provides knowledge of a full range of fundamental ideas, issues, events and beliefs that characterized the world view of Dante's age.
v. 1. Dante and Beatrice : the poet's life and the invention of poetry
v. 2. Dante and classical antiquity : the epic tradition
v. 3. Dante and philosophy : nature, the cosmos, and the ethical imperative
v. 4. Dante and theology : the biblical tradition and Christian allegory
v. 5. Dante and history : from Florence and Rome to heavenly Jerusalem
v. 6. Dante and critical theory
v. 7. Dante and interpretation
v. 8. Dante's afterlife : the influence and reception of the Commedia.
Books All 8 Volumes available Willis 3rd Floor

The Divine Comedy, completed around 1320, is a supreme work of the imagination None of Dante's other works, nor even all of his other works taken together, can rival the Comedy. How did the Florentine exile come to create this masterpiece? What steps in his development can explain the making of this extraordinary poem? In this book, a preeminent Dante scholar turns to the poet's body of works - the only real biography of Dante that we have - to illuminate these questions. Through an exposition of Dante's other writings, Robert Hollander provides a concise intellectual biography of the writer whom many consider the greatest narrative poet of the modern era. Hollander writes for those who have already encountered the Comedy, suggesting to these readers how Dante's other works relate to the great poem and inviting them to reread the Comedy with new interest and understanding.
Book Willis 3rd Floor

A towering figure in world literature, Dante wrote his great epic poem Commedia in the early fourteenth century. The work gained universal acclaim and came to be known as La Divina Commedia, or The Divine Comedy. Giuseppe Mazzotta brings Dante and his masterpiece to life in this exploration of the man, his cultural milieu, and his endlessly fascinating works.   Based on Mazzotta's highly popular Yale course, this book offers a critical reading of The Divine Comedy and selected other works by Dante. Through an analysis of Dante's autobiographical Vita nuova, Mazzotta establishes the poetic and political circumstances of The Divine Comedy. He situates the three sections of the poem--Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise--within the intellectual and social context of the late Middle Ages, and he explores the political, philosophical, and theological topics & nbsp; with which Dante was particularly concerned.
E-Book Unlimited User

A compelling introduction to the life and work of Dante Alighieri, this program features readings from The Divine Comedy and New Life. Written and narrated by Robert Hollander of Princeton University, it introduces Dante's style and themes.
Online Video

Annual journal of the Dante Society of America. Access restricted to subscribing institutions. Description based on: Volume 133 (2015); title from PDF title page (Project MUSE, viewed February 5, 2016).
Latest issue consulted: Volume 133 (2015) (Project MUSE, viewed March 15, 2016).
E-Journal