Guides: THEA 1700: Introduction to Theatrical Design I: Costume &amp; Decor Images &amp; Identification

Historic Costume E-Books

Search these highly illustrated e-books for historic costume.
If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUD password before the book will open.

Pictorial Encyclopedia of Historic Costume by Albert Kretschmer
ISBN: 9780486136462
Ranging from the elegant garments worn by citizens of ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome to the dramatic clothing of nineteenth-century French, English, and German societies, this stunning pictorial encyclopedia chronicles the full sweep of historic dress through the centuries. An unparalleled history of costume design, this collection includes the garb of kings and laborers ... ladies and warriors ... peasants and priests. Scores of accessories are also illustrated, including shoes, jewelry, wigs, and hair ornaments, along with furniture, musical instruments, and weaponry from a fascinating array of time periods.
Historic Costumes in Pictures by Braun and Schneider Staff
ISBN: 9780486231501
Over 1,450 costumed figures in clearly detailed engravings -- from the dawn of civilization to the end of the 19th century. Features many folk costumes.

Selected Paper Books

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History by James Steele
Call Number: NA7105 .S74 2009 vols. 1-3, 3rd floor Willis Library
ISBN: 0313337888
Twenty-four pages of color images, along with black and white images through three volumes, illustrate the homes of people throughout the world. The volumes cover ancient times to the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance to the Industrial Revolution, and the Post-Industrial Revolution to the Present.
The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Albert Racinet
Call Number: GT510 .R3313 1988, Willis Library, 3rd floor
ISBN: 0816019762
Organized into four principal sections with a scope ranging from the ancient world to the nineteenth century, this illustrated volume offers a detailed accounting of men's and women's clothing, both fashions and formal wear as well as everyday garb.

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

Search these databases to find images of historical decor and costume.
If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.

Keyword Search Examples:
Place: Aran Islands, Ireland AND Nineteenth Century
Architecture and Decor: Aran Islands AND house (or home or architecture or domestic architecture), Ireland AND peasant AND house, Ireland AND Nineteenth Century AND Furniture, Irish AND peasant AND furniture
Costumes and Clothing: Aran Islands AND costume (or clothing) AND Nineteenth Century, Ireland AND peasant AND costume (or clothing) AND Nineteenth Century, Embroidery AND Aran Islands,
People: Synge, John (last name, first name), Irish peasants,

ARTstor
ARTstor has over 1 million high resolution images of works from museums around the world, including art and architecture from Neolithic to Postmodern times. Collections include: European paintings, sculpture and decorative arts prints, graphic design, photography, drawings, Asian art, illuminated manuscripts, cave temple works, Egyptian art, Cuban art, Korean and Buddhist monastery and Islamic art and architecture, Medieval and Renaissance art, and prints from the Illustrated Bartsch. Also offers the ability to search for art works by geographic area and then by date. Faculty and students must create an ARTstor account to downloaded images. Use of Artstor images for commercial purposes or on the web in a non-password protected environment is prohibited. Dates of Coverage: 9,500 BCE to present
EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
History of Costume
History of Costume A History of Costume in Slides, Notes, and Commentaries is a six-volume work of visual lectures with 1,500 color slides and slide commentaries. The collection shows, through works of art, the history of clothing for women and men throughout Western civilization from ancient Egypt to 1992. EUID and password is required for access.
Berg fashion library
Berg Fashion Library Full-text entries from the entire Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, full-text from over 60 Berg fashion e-books, journal articles and an extensive image bank with 2,000 images from the encyclopedia and 1,600 from the fashion collection of the Victoria & Albert Museum. To open the full-text of the journal article, click DOI on the left navigation bar. Sates of Coverage: Prehistoric era to the present.

Books for Images and the Identification of Decor and Costume

The reference books listed below are full of images of costume and décor images by time period. Most of the books are located on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library. Click on the title of the book to see the location and call number. Reference books cannot be checked out, but you can use, photocopy and scan (free) them in the library.

Survey of Historic Costume
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)
The Guide to Historic Costume
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920
Encyclopaedia of Fashion
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
Evolution of Fashion
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000Fashions in Hair (Corson)
Fashions in Makeup (Corson)
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book
20th Century Fashion
Contemporary Fashion
Visual History of Costume
More Costumes for the Stage
American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume
Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940
Architecture and Ornament: A Visual Guide
Elements of style: Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, 1485 to Present
History of interior design & furniture: from ancient Egypt to 19th century Europe
World furniture; an illustrated history
Furniture: world styles from classical to contemporary

Costume and Decor Indenification and Images: Online

Costume and Decor Identification and Images: Online

The Costume Page

The Costumer’s Manifesto

Illustrated History of Furniture
Click on the descriptions to see the images.

Getty Images

University Libraries

THEA 1700: Introduction to Theatrical Design I: Costume & Decor Images & Identification

Historic Costume E-Books

Selected Paper Books

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

Books for Images and the Identification of Decor and Costume

Books for Images and the Identification of Decor and Costume

Costume and Decor Indenification and Images: Online

Costume and Decor Identification and Images: Online

THEA 1700: Introduction to Theatrical Design I: Costume & Decor Images & Identification

Historic Costume E-Books

Selected Paper Books

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

Theatre Costume and Decor Images and Identification

Books for Images and the Identification of Decor and Costume

Books for Images and the Identification of Decor and Costume

Costume and Decor Indenification and Images: Online

Costume and Decor Identification and Images: Online

Additional Links