Guides: Technical Communication Guide: Library Resources

Library Resources

The UNT Libraries provides a number of resources that can help you with your course assignments, research, or writing projects, including books, journals, research databases, and online guides.

There are also subject librarians for every discipline and department who can help with specific questions you have about resources in those areas. The subject librarian for Technical Communication is shown in the box at the bottom of the left-hand column of this page.

Helpful Online Guides:

Basic and Advanced Library Research
Use this guide to get started doing research at the UNT Libraries
Business Research Basics
Resources for conducting general business research.
Company & Industry Research
A collection of resources for researching particular companies and industries.
Citation & Style Guides
Find citation and style guides for a variety of disciplines and professional fields
Careers
A guide to resources on career information, including resumes and cover letters, job searching, and career research.
Government Agencies
Use this guide to identify and contact federal, state, regional, local, and international agencies and organizations.
Plagiarism
Learn what plagiarism means and how to avoid it in your writing.

Other Useful Resources

Baywood's Technical Communication Series: A collection of books available in the UNT Libraries on a variety of technical and professional communication topics, including assessment, collaborative writing, content management, technical editing, cross-cultural communication, and research in the field.
Lynda.com: Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. University of North Texas students and employees have access to and are eligible to create accounts with Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. Please sign-in with your euid and password.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are accurate, objective, relevant, timely, and accessible.

Technical & Professional Communication Research Databases

ABI/INFORM
ABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Business Media Source
The SRDS Business Media Source provides planning data on trade media, including print journals and websites that reach business-to-business audiences. Data includes rates and contact information, audience metrics and audit statements, and more.
Business Source Complete
Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.
ChiltonLibrary.com
Chilton Library provides photographs, diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks. Domestic and import vehicle information updated monthly.
Communication & mass media complete
Abstracts of journal articles, handbooks and recent encyclopedias in communication & mass media Full-text when available.
Computer and information systems abstracts
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts via CSA (1981-current) contains Over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Dates of Coverage: 1981 - Current with monthly updates. The oldest record in the database has a publication date of 1961 about 50% of its records have publication dates of 1991 or later
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Consumer Media Source
SRDS Consumer Media Source provides planning data on U.S. print magazines and websites that reach consumer audiences. Information provided includes rates and contact information, audience metrics and audit statements, and more. Search options include media type, keyword, title, consumer market classification, and BPA, CVC or AAm audited.
Mergent Archives
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Occupational Outlook Handbook provides the employment outlook for hundreds of different occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work working conditions employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement job outlook and earnings. Produced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Dates of Coverage: current
Science.gov USA.gov for science.
Science.gov searches databases and selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Dates of Coverage: Varies by agency.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.

Engineering & Technology databases

IEEE Xplore
Electrical & electronics engineering, computer science, telecommunications, and, to a lesser extent, physics and general engineering. Full text access to IEEE Journals, Transactions, Magazines, Letters, Conference Proceedings, Standards (current only), and IEE Journals and Conferences. Full text uses PDF format with photographs and charts.1988 to current, with some journals and conference titles available from 1950.

IEEE Xplore Tutorials
Many tutorials with tips and techniques.

ACM digital library
Bibliographic citations, abstracts, reviews, and full text for articles published in ACM proceedings and periodicals. The full text is primarily available in Adobe Acrobat PDF format and is generally available for the full set of issues published. Because the ACM often publishes in cooperation with IEEE links to content on the IEEE site will direct users to full text housed there.
Engineering Source
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this premier collection of indexed and full-text content provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA) includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 90 core information science and technology titles. With coverage dating as far back as 1975, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
INSPEC
Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, this database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. In addition, Inspec also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more.
Science & technology collection
Science and Technology Collection Contains full text journals and indexing and abstracts. Topics include: Aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication. e.
SciTech Premium Collection
The SciTech Premium Collection includes full-text journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. The topics included are on natural science, engineering, technology, and in addition to many more.
Web of science
Web of Science allows you to search across multiple databases. Searched databases include: Web of Science, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, CAB Abstracts, and Zoological Record.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your EUID and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.

University Libraries

Technical Communication Guide

Useful Library Services

Journals

Research in Technical Communication

Subject Librarian

Library Resources

Other Useful Resources

Technical & Professional Communication Research Databases

Engineering & Technology databases

Technical Communication Guide

Library Resources

Other Useful Resources

Technical & Professional Communication Research Databases

Engineering & Technology databases

Additional Links