Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scifinder-n: CAS's new literature and substance database

Learn how to register for and use the top database for finding chemical literature and substances. Scifinder-n will be replacing Scifinder Scholar, which will be discontinued at UNT after the 2019-2020 academic year.

Scifinder-n: The New Version of Scifinder

Scifinder-n is the top database in chemistry for finding literature and substances. It includes the content from Scifinder Scholar - literature, substances, reactions, and suppliers - and new sections - MethodsNow Synthesis, Retrosynthesis Planner, and PatentPak. Give it a try to see how much chemical information you can locate in one place. Both Scifinder-n and Scifinder Scholar will be available through December 31, 2020; after that, Scfinder Scholar will be discontinued.

Already have a Scifinder Scholar account? Then you're ready to login to your Scifinder-n account. Simply follow the instructions in the box below.

Never used a Scifinder database? Then you'll need to register for an account first. Please follow the instructions in the box below.

Check out these training materials to find out more about Scifinder-n:

Use Your Scifinder Scholar Authentication to Enter Scifinder-n

If you have a Scifinder Scholar account, then Scfinder-n already has an account waiting for you. Follow these steps to login:

  1. Go to the library's homepage at library.unt.edu
  2. Select the Databases search tab and search for [scifinder-n]
  3. Click on the link, Connect to Scifinder-n. NOTE: if you are off-campus, you'll be asked to enter your EUID and password at this point.
  4. Enter your username and password from your old Scifinder Scholar account. 
  5. Begin your search!

Register for a Scifinder-n Account

You must register for a Scifinder-n account before using the database for the first time. Follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=3574ABFD-86F3-50AB-5853-7F37D9CB1A36
  2. Complete the registration form using your email address for a UNT student (marysmith@my.unt.edu) or employee (mary.smith@unt.edu)
  3. Respond to the validation email you will receive from Scifinder-n and start using your account.
  4. To enter Scifinder-n in the future, go to the Start Your Research section of the library's homepage. Click on the Databases tab, type in and select Scifinder-n, and then log into Scifinder-n with your username and password. NOTE: If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter your EUID and password before logging into Scifinder-n.

Additional Links

top