Skip to Main Content

notice Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.

PSCI 3110: The Legislative Process

Class guide for PSCI 3110

Guide Introduction

This guide offers a variety of library and public resources for use in the course PSCI 3110: The Legislative Process

There many different places you can find information on legislation. This guide breaks down resources that provide federal legislation and policy resources.

Not sure where to begin? 

I recommend the following resources as a starting place because they provide a wide breadth on information and are relatively user friendly. If you need research assistance, I am available to answer questions over email or via Zoom research consultations. Please contact me!

Databases

Your EUID and password are needed to access these resources off-campus.

  • ProQuest Congressional—ProQuest Congressional Includes information on bills, laws, regulations, Congressional publications, current and previous Members of Congress, campaign finance information, financial disclosures, voting records, and committee membership. Also includes the full text of some Congressional reports, documents, and testimonies. Dates of Coverage: 1789 - present

Websites 

  • Congress.gov—Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

  • Federal Register—The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) jointly administer the FederalRegister.gov website. We developed this website to make it easier for citizens and communities to understand the regulatory process and to participate in Government decision-making.

  • House Committees—The House’s committees consider bills and issues and oversee agencies, programs, and activities within their jurisdictions.

  • Senate Committees—The Senate's committees consider bills and issues and oversee agencies, programs, and activities within their jurisdictions.

  • Congressional Member Organizations—A document of listing the Committee on House Administration  for 116th Congress, revised December 2019.

  • Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies—Find contact information for U.S. federal government departments and agencies including websites, emails, phone numbers, addresses, and more. 

  • Regulations.gov—eRulemaking Program was established as a cross-agency E-Gov initiative under Section 206 of the 2002 E-Government Act (H.R. 2458/S. 803) and was based within the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency until October 2019. The eRulemaking program has since been managed by the General Services Administration. The eRulemaking Management Office (PMO) leads the eRulemaking Program and is responsible for the development and implementation of this website.

Introduction to the UNT Libraries

General Library Information

  • UNT Libraries Home Page
  • UNT Libraries AskUs offers general assistance with all types of questions and can help to connect you to in depth research assistance.
  • The Political Science and Government Information collections are housed at the Sycamore Library.

Interlibrary Loan

Found something you'd like to use in your research that not available at the UNT Libraries? These materials can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Other Helpful Links