A pop-up library is mobile library services, collections, or resources being offered and promoted outside of the library building.

Types of pop-ups:

• Circulating materials - Checking out library materials in a location other than a service desk.
• Database highlights - Promoting a singular database via demonstrations or vendor swag.
• Collection highlights - Highlighting a collection by bringing it to a new location.
• Embedded reference - Offering reference services in a location other than a service desk.
• And more!

Libraries have acknowledged the need to meet patron’s needs where they are at. This has included traveling outside of the physical library by enhancing online resources, embedded or roving reference, and pop-up libraries. Pop-up libraries can perform a variety of different functions, but the idea generally encompasses “a collection of resources taken outside of the physical library space to the public” (Davis et al., 2015). Although commonly employed by public libraries, academic libraries have also capitalized on the benefits of hosting pop-ups. The Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis Library created a pop-up library services desk to answer library questions and provide assistance across their campus (Moffett & Myers, 2023). Their pop-up was stationed in spaces where students frequently visited, and library staff were able to expand the reach of their services (Moffett & Myers, 2023). Similarly, Georgia Southern University’s Lane Library experimented with pop-up libraries as an outreach tool. Their pop-up enabled their collections to be checked out near one of their dining locations and allowed the libraries to increase their circulation of materials and increase their presence on campus (Georgia Southern University Armstrong campus, 2018). Literature shows a variety of ways in which pop-up libraries can expand the reach of their services and resources, and this project is meant to support and grow UNT Libraries’ current outreach efforts.  (note: add information/reference from the TLA pop-up library session)

References 

Davis, A., Rice, C., Spagnolo, D., Struck, J., & Bull, S. (2015). Exploring pop-up libraries in practice. The Australian Library Journal, 64(2), 94-104. https://doi.org/10.1080/00049670.2015.1011383     

Moffett, P. & Myers, B. (2023, November 15). “Pop-Up Library Service?! That’s super sick!” [Conference Presentation]. Access Services Conference, Atlanta, Georgia, United States. https://vimeo.com/showcase/10819113/video/884876445  

Georgia Southern University Armstrong campus. (2018). Georgia Library Quarterly, 55(1), 35–36. 

Further Reading 

Barnett, J., Bull, S., & Cooper, H. (2016). Pop-up library at the University of Birmingham: Extending the reach of an academic library by taking “the library” to the students. New Review of Academic Librarianship, 22(2-3), 112-131. https://doi.org/10.1080/13614533.2016.1168307  

Fiore, S. (2016, September 26). Pop-up perfection: Staging a pop-up library. Public Libraries Online. https://publiclibrariesonline.org/2016/09/pop-up-perfection-staging-a-pop-up-library/ 

Lasher, M., & Denzer, K. (2020). Just popping in: Collections and outreach collaborations to increase student engagement with electronic resources. Serials Review, 46(3), 201–208. https://doi.org/10.1080/00987913.2020.1806649 

Ontarian Librarian. (2015, August 18). Pop up libraries: Tips for success. https://ontarianlibrarian.com/2015/08/18/pop-up-libraries-tips-for-success/  

Purpur, E., Radniecki, T., Colegrove, P. T., & Klenke, C. (2016). Refocusing mobile makerspace outreach efforts internally as professional development. Library Hi Tech, 34(1), 130–142. https://doi.org/10.1108/LHT-07-2015-0077