Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Media: Online Media Collections @ UNT

Guide to UNT's online media resources

Online Video Collections

The UNT Libraries subscribe to a number of scholarly online video collections.  Information and tips on the individual collections follows below. The subscription collections include: 

UNT Libraries Video on Demand Collection

The UNT Libraries' Video on Demand collection covers a wide variety of topics and disciplines, including fine arts, anthropology, education, history, business, environmental sciences, linguistics, gender studies, disability studies and political science. All titles in this collection can be accessed through the library catalog.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

Academic Video Online a cross-search tool for Alexander Street Press Video databases. This interface will search across the following streaming video collections:

  • 60 Minutes: 1997-2014: Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more.

  • Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes I and II: Provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--over 500 hours and more than 500 videos. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.

  • Dance in Video: Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.

  • Education in Video: Education in Video an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection contains teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Can be searched by subject and grade level. Dates of Coverage: Current.

  • Engineering Case Studies Online: Provides video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes around the world, the areas includes: aerospace, civil and environmental, electrical, mechanical, etc. Offers documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions. Content is produced by the BBC, U.S. National Transportation Safety Board, American Society of Civil Engineers etc.

  • Ethnographic Video Online: Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

  • Human Rights Studies OnlineSearchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection takes a case study approach, providing primary and secondary materials for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video and spans 1900-2010.

  • Opera in Video: Opera in Video Contains some of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a works importance to the operatic canon. Presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from Baroque to 20th century. Streaming video. Dates of Coverage: 1980s - present.

  • PBS Video Collection: Includes documentary films and series from the history of PBS in one online interface.

  • Silent Film Online: Silent Film Online database brings together more than 500 films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP's Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. High quality versions of films have been selected for the collection from leading distributors such as Kino Lorber, Lobster Films, Flicker Alley, and Image Entertainment.

  • Theatre in Video: Volume I: Theatre In Video contains more than 500 hours of online streaming video covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Dates of Coverage: 1930s– Current.

Ambrose Video

Ambrose Video 2.0 provides access to video productions of 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between the years of 1978-1984. Each play is broken down into acts and is closed captioned.

Swank Digital Campus

Swank Digital Campus provides legal access to course-related films. Includes feature films, documentaries, and films on many topics.

Masterworks

The Masterworks Collection is a rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting. 

Access Science*

AccessScience is a dynamic online resource that contains reference material for all major scientific disciplines, with articles and research reviews, definitions, biographies of scientific figures, downloadable images and animations, along with videos, links to citable literature, a citation generator, and mobile access for patrons. This resource is updated regularly.

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank*

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events Dates of Coverage: 18th Century-current.

National Geographic Video Collection*

* Individual video titles in this collection are not listed in the UNT Libraries Catalog. 

 Access to most of these resources is subscription-based and limited to current UNT students, faculty, and staff. Users may be asked to log in with their EUID and password in order to access these resources off-campus.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

Connect to Academic Video Online

 

The UNT Library subscribes to a number of Alexander Street Press Critical Video Edition databases, which can all be searched through the Academic Video Online interface. Collectively, these resources provide access to over 6,000 online videos. Many of these databases include transcriptions, mobile device access, and allows users to create personalized clips and play lists.

 

Linking to films in Academic Video Online:

To ensure that your students on and off-campus can access these resources, follow these steps to add links into your Blackboard course. 

1. DO NOT use the URL listed in the the browser's address field

2. Click "Permalink"

3. Use the link provided in the Permalink box. This link will start with "https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login". 

Screenshot of where to locate the Permalink option.

 

Additional Links

top