Guides: Media and Information Fluency: Newspaper Databases

Electronic News Resources

Access world news
Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Communication & mass media complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive
Dallas Morning News Historical Archives (1885-1984) This resource offers full page reproductions of The Dallas Morning News newspaper from 1885-1984.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Access Newspaper Archive
NewspaperARCHIVE.com contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy to quickly explore historical content.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-1922)
Texas newspaper collection
Texas Newspaper Collection via Newsbank provides full text access to over 30 Texas-based newspapers. Cities covered include: Abilene, Amarillo, Angleton, Arlington, Austin, Baytown, Beaumont, Brazosport, Corpus Christi, Dallas, Denton, El Paso, Fort Worth, Galveston, Graham, Houston, Kerrville, Longview, Lubbock, Lufkin, Marshall, Midland, Nacogdoches, Plainview, San Angelo, San Antonio, Seguin, Texas City, Victoria, and Waco. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

The Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Hosted on UNT Libraries' Portal to Texas History, the Texas Digital Newspaper Program is the largest, single-state, open access digital repository of newspapers in the United States. This collection comprises nearly 1 million newspaper issues, and it is fully text-searchable for easy research and navigation. For help with searching the collection, please see the Portal FAQ guide. A complete title list of newspapers is available, as well, if you prefer to research within just one newspaper title.
Chronicling America
Hosted by the Library of Congress, Chronicling America is an openly accessible database of newspaper titles from all 50 states in the U.S., as well as from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. These newspapers are fully text-searchable and freely available. The title list is available for easy single-title searching, as well as search capabilities across the entire set of 20 million newspaper pages. This project is supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Edsitement Race & Ethnicity Keyword Thesaurus for Chronicling America
Created by partners in the National Digital Newspaper Program, this resource hopes to serve researchers at all levels through demonstrations and explanations of search terms related to race and ethnicity in Chronicling America.
more...less...
This can be particularly challenging when searching for news about race and ethnicity, since much of the language describing such communities has evolved and changed throughout the centuries.
The pages in this Race and Ethnicity Keyword Thesaurus serve as a guide to searching topics of race and ethnicity in Chronicling America, including lists of words used in the past that may help produce more results, as well as strategies for navigating the database. When using this resource, keep in mind that historical newspapers, like all primary documents from the past, use the language of the time they were written, which many include terms considered offensive today.
IFLA News Media Section News Literacy Curriculum Toolkit
Developed by members of the IFLA News Media section, this document is intended to serve as a modular lesson guide for university faculty. Using this document, educators planning news literacy topics for university students in courses such as Journalism, Rhetoric, Technical Communication, Information Science, could identify classroom activities or lessons for incorporating into their own teaching.

Wire Services & Press Agencies

Reuters
The world's largest international multimedia news agency.
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. AFP is the third largest news agency in the world.
Associated Press
An independent, non-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City.

Media Bias

Even typically reliable sources, whether mainstream or alternative, corporate or nonprofit, rely on particular media frames to report stories and select stories based on different notions of newsworthiness. The best thing to do in our contemporary media environment is to read/watch/listen widely and often, and to be critical of the sources we share and engage with on social media.

Here are some websites that can help you identify media bias.

Fair.org
A national media watch group, offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship.
All Sides Bias Ratings
Provides readers a sense of the political leanings of the source
Media Bias Fact Check
A comprehensive media bias resource.

University Libraries

Media and Information Fluency

Need Help?

Questions about Literacy?

Electronic News Resources

Wire Services & Press Agencies

Media Bias

Media and Information Fluency

Electronic News Resources

Wire Services & Press Agencies

Media Bias

Additional Links