The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Ways to access the data:
By keyword using “search” (e.g. GDP, FDI, Health, unemployment, income distribution, population, labour, education, trade, finance, prices, Economic Outlook, Government Debt, Social expenditure ...)
By selecting data in the left-hand menu (popular queries or data by theme)
By accessing your saved queries under “My Queries” (for logged-in users)
Country Commercial Guides are an excellent starting point to find everything you need to know about doing business overseas, detailing 8 important factors to help you decide if a market is right for your product or service:
1. Doing Business in ...
Provides a broad overview of the market and the top reasons why U.S. companies should consider exporting here. Recommends strategies for entering the market and summarizes challenges or barriers for U.S. companies.
2. Political and Economic Environment
Links to the State Department’s website for background information on the country’s political environment, its bilateral relationship with the U.S. and the country’s membership in international organizations.
3. Selling U.S. Products and Services
Provides guidance and best practices for selling U.S. products and services in the market, includes typical use of agents and selling to the government. Provides steps for establishing an office or joint-venture/licensing partner, and conducting due diligence. Discusses the state of e-commerce, franchising, and direct marketing.
4. Leading Sectors for U.S. Exports and Investment
Identifies the top industry sectors that have potential in the market. Provides a general overview of each sector, including trade data, challenges, sub-sector best prospects, and a list of relevant websites and trade shows.
5. Trade Regulations, Customs and Standards
Describes trade regulations, customs and standards in the market. Provides information on import tariffs and documentation U.S firms should be aware of when exporting, including any prohibited items or temporary entry procedures.
6. Investment Climate Statement
Describes the country’s openness to foreign investments and provides information on the country’s investment policies, the labor market, political violence and levels of corruption. Describes foreign trade zones and laws for protecting property rights.
7. Trade and Project Financing
Describes the country’s financial system and how U.S. firms typically get paid. Describes the banking system and provides information on foreign exchange controls in the market. Describes important sources of funding for project financing.
8. Business Travel
Describes relevant business travel information and business customs, includes any special visa or entry requirements, potential health risks, travel advisories and information on travelling around the country.
Prepared by our U.S. Embassies abroad. With its network of 108 offices across the United States and in more than 75 countries, the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce utilizes its global presence and international marketing expertise to help U.S. companies sell their products and services worldwide.