Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JOUR 4240: Comparative International Media Systems
Study of mass media throughout the world with special attention to how media institutions contribute to building democracy. Comparison of print and broadcast news systems, the sources and flow of international news and the challenges of globalism.
Communication & mass media complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
Company & Industry Information
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Dates of coverage: varies by company
AP Stylebook Online
The AP Stylebook is a writing style guide for journalists. It is published and updated annually to reflect changes in writing style and new guidelines. AP Stylebook Online takes everything you love about the Stylebook -- A-Z guide to usage, spelling and punctuation -- and adds Internet functionality to make it an even more convenient tool.
RefWorks: reference management software that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies in a variety of formats. Available to all UNT members, but you need to sign up for an account the first time you use. Note: Please be aware that Write-N-Cite v.2 requires that documents be saved in Word 97-2003 (.doc) format to work properly. Write-N-Cite III should be used for Word 2003 and later.